• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Diagnosis: BGS Casualty

Anyone who thinks running a raiding guild is easy is…well, an idiot. I never made the mistake of assuming that it would be easy. I always figured that it would take time, dedication, and quite frankly be a job which I likened to my own job. However, it was one that I figured I would enjoy and have fun with. Believe me it’s been fun and I still enjoy it, but it does have its moments…

The War

alliance-logo-wow-warcraftWithout going into details, I have two main issues. First, we are a raiding guild that struggles getting raids off the ground. This isn’t a problem the officers can easily fix. It’s a problem with recruiting the right kinds of people and motivating the current members to get with the program. Recruiting is something I’m currently working hard at doing.

Second, the solutions we constantly seem to discuss never get implemented. We’ve always had a problem with screening our recruits, but that has actually improved itself after several “unfortunate” recruits in the past eventually left the guild. But we do struggle with being consistent about some of our solutions whether it be about recruiting, promoting, raid times, invites, etc. The inconsistency has created more headaches for me than any other issue.

BGS: Battered Guildie Syndrome

Matticus posted a tongue-in-cheek story about something he terms Battered Guildie Syndrome. Obviously meant for fun it does hit on a rather serious issue that I think perhaps I’m personally experiencing.

Although I don’t suffer from all of symptoms of BGS, I do suffer from the following:

  • Obsessively sacrificing their needs “for the good of the guild”
  • Continues to go back to their guild despite wanting to leave
  • Frequently talks about leaving
  • A strong sense of loyalty

OK I need to be careful with what I’m saying here.

Obsessively sacrificing their needs “for the good of the guild”

I strongly believe in doing things “for the good of the guild”, but I don’t know that I would say I “obsessively” sacrifice my needs for that good. The way I see it I’m investing in my future. By helping others get their upgrades by passing, by allowing others to take my spot in raids when they can, and by generally just putting their needs in front of mine I hope to create an atmosphere where raiders want to stay.

You ever work for someone that was always looking out for you? It’s a great feeling and has always helped in instilling loyalty in me sometimes to a fault.

The drawback of course lies in those that get and get out. Also, I’m told it sometimes hampers the raid as I’m one of the core raiders and need to be one of the better geared compared to some that raid less often. I suppose that my looking out for others is something I just can’t let go of. Remember, I’m investing in my future so it isn’t all selfless.

Continues to go back to their guild despite wanting to leave

It’s not that I want to leave and it’s not that I’ve even spent a lot of serious time thinking about leaving, but I have thought about it in the past.  I’ve always dismissed it as being emotional because it’s usually when something frustrates me to the point where I can’t take it anymore that I consider leaving.  The next day I’m calmed down enough to not really go through with it.

Frequently talks about leaving

I wouldn’t say I frequently talk about leaving, but I do have a couple of friends that I have joked about it with. I know it was a complete shock to me too discovering that I make light of serious things as a coping mechanism.

One friend always says, “You’ll never leave”.

A strong sense of loyalty

I said I’ve been loyal to a fault and I think the same applies here as well. The one time that I seriously almost quit the guild was the one time where the only thing that kept me from doing it was a sense of loyalty to two of the fellow GMs I have.

I’ve been with these two guys for a long time now and we’ve come a long way since our <Field of Honor> days. As it is I cannot bring myself to let these two down.

Treatment

I was sick with the flu the past two days and it was so bad yesterday that I couldn’t even play WoW. The two days away from the stress of playing actually was sort of nice. I spent some time paying attention to my family and doing what little I could to play with the kids which mostly involved tossing a small rubber basketball to my youngest.

This time off has actually got me dreading logging in tonight. I know it might sound narcissistic, but it always seems the drama hits when I’m not on. I play WoW to relax and Albert Einstein said it best when he defined insanity as “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

So doctors, what’s your treatment for me?

  • rolling_dice11Keep working at getting the guild where we want it to be?
  • Continue with the insanity and learn to live with it?
  • Quit while I’m behind?
  • Server transfer?
  • Or claim I’ve come down with a dreadful disease and excuse myself while re-rolling Horde on another server?
4 Responses

  1. so, good morning

    First i want to apologize for my bad english, but i try to improve it further ;)
    So, i realy feel with you. The problems you mentioned above are almost the sames as in my guild.
    We also try to keep an Naxxramas raid running, but its really hard work. And the worst thing is…no one excluding the raid leaders seems to notice how hard work it is to keep the raid running
    And when you notice that half of the raid havt contrary to the orders not enchanted their gear properly….*sigh* What would you do ?

  2. I probably should have categorized this as a rant, which I promised myself I’d do less of or at least come up with a way to present it in a positive fashion.

    But you’re right I don’t think most people realize how hard it is to organize raids. They don’t seem to understand the impact each of them has and take things for granted.

    This weekend we were able to finally get a 25 man group together for OS and Naxx. We cleared the Spider Wing and Plague Wing for the first time ever and our 2nd time ever going in. It was such a positive experience that I’m hoping it’ll motivate the members to show up now.

    And don’t ever worry about your english on this site. I speak english, bad english, and bad german. I love receiving comments regardless! :)

  3. I probably should have categorised this as a rant, which I promised myself I’d do less of or at least come up with a way to present it in a positive fashion.

    But you’re right I don’t think most people realize how hard it is to organise raids. They don’t seem to understand the impact each of them has and take things for granted.

    This weekend we were able to finally get a 25 man group together for OS and Naxx. We cleared the Spider Wing and Plague Wing for the first time ever and our 2nd time ever going in. It was such a positive experience that I’m hoping it’ll motivate the members to show up now.

    And don’t ever worry about your English on this site. I speak English, bad English, and bad German. I love receiving comments regardless! :)

    First , gratz to your success. I can understand how great it is to achieve something you have worked hard to achieve it !!! I hope you can hold this level !

    Last week my group cleared Naxx 10 in only 6 hours ( for us is this great )
    This session we decided to change one of the tanks to build up a third thank if the first one have no time . And this time we must open a third date to clear the remaining two quarters. *sigh* Nothing, but really nothing seems to work. For example the shaman forget to put out his anti-venom totem when we tried maexxna.
    But the peak of the iceberg was: Im one of two healers of the group. And i just wondered how the tank coud die in the stun phase of maexxna. I talked about this with my co leader and after half a minute he whispered to me that the shaman have not enchanted and gemed his gear.
    Don’t get me wrong, this was not the main reason for the bad performance. But its really hard to handle Nax with two healers, and then you see the second healer do something like this…first You are annoyed…..then Disappointed.
    And now we think about what we can do to change this.
    Shall we force the people to enchant der equipment. ? Shall we talk with them ? *sigh* Shouldn’t the be interested in being equipped properly ?
    Are the requirements to high ..dont Know ;)
    In my opinion , if you want to raid, you must do whatever is possible to improve your character. And if you have not the time…call the leaders, but don’t be silent and say nothing.

    Sometimes i think a raid group is something like an organism.
    With a pot of coffee( some suceess maybe ;) ) it works great, and somethimes somethin undefinable is working less good.The problem ist that everyone is happy when the things running good, and if somethin dont work…its really hard to motivate the people to concentrate for the 5-6 attempt.

  4. im sry , but i copied your post into mine…ups ;)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

