• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Reviewing the Belkin n52te

As promised, here’s my review of the Belkin n52te.

What Is The Belkin n52te?

The Belkin n52te is a basically a gamer’s pad designed for FPS (that’s First-Person Shooters, not frames-per-second :)), MMORPGs, and RTS (Real-Time Strategy) games. It has a handy design that supports your wrist to help keep you from having to shake awake your hand. With 15 fully programmable keys it should cover most of your needs, but also has an 8-way thumb pad and scroll wheel that can also be programmed for spells and abilities.

The n52te also has a few other features, but you can go read their site to get the info.

So Why Did I Buy It?

If you’ve been following my blog for a while you know that I transferred from a PvE to a PvP server a few months ago. As such, I’ve become more interested in PvP as a means to defend myself. I have even gotten to the point where I’m starting to like it. Wintergrasp is actually fun, although the lag buff is annoying. What do you mean I’m not in range?! I’m standing right on top of him!!! Warsong Gulch which was my least favorite battleground due to the Alliance’s inability to end a round better than 0-3 is actually more fun now that I can actually kill Horde.

But the big problem I have had with PvP is that I…suck. So how to get better?

One of the problems I was having was trying to watch Horde run all over the place, follow them, attack, and not die ALL AT THE SAME TIME! The last thing on my mind is trying to look at my finger placement to make sure I’m on the right keys. I’ve found myself trying to hit Crusader Strike only to find I’d been hitting Divine Plea in an attempt to make it happen.

I purchased the Belkin in hopes that finding the right keys without looking would no longer be a problem.

PvP With The n52te

When it comes to PvP this handy toy is a godsend. Overall I have seen my performance in battlegrounds increase. The biggest advantage has been that with a limited size it’s much easier to automatically place my fingers on the right keys and not fumble around. I had however hoped that the thumb control would help me manuever, but I found it to be rather choppy. It’s not exactly the most responsive directional control. So instead I bound 4 additional spells to the N-E-S-W controls and that’s worked out great!

Raiding With The n52te

I finally got to try it out in a raid the other night. It worked great. The only problem I had was I was moving around my spells to get them keybound to the right places. This kind of screwed me up as I had a hard time remembering where my some of my spells were. I highly advise you to go practice somewhere for more than 10 minutes, if it messes with your setup.

Overall though when it came to raiding I didn’t see that much of a difference with the n52te, but then again I messed with my button placement. It works great, but in raids I generally have less of a problem with finger placement.

Setting Up Your Belkin n52te

Customizing Your Setup

Here’s what your setup screen looks like. Notice the 14 buttons, button 15 (default spacebar button below the directional pad), button 16 (a thumb button right above the directional pad), the 8-way directional pad, and the scroll wheel. Each of these can be programmed to different keys by left clicking and selecting the first option in the drop-down menu.

There are even 3 different keymaps so you can have different configurations if you like. I’m not mentally agile enough to remember 3 different settings so I’ll only ever use the one. I suppose I could use the other two for other games, but except for WoW all of my games are on the XBox360.

You’ll notice in my configuration that I have not assigned keys to the DPad NE, SE, SW, and NW. Until I get used to this thing I’m always afraid I’ll click the wrong direction getting the wrong spell. Button 15 is set up for my press-to-talk button on Vent. It’s in a slightly awkward position so I don’t use it for spells.

As you play around with this and change the keybindings, remember to click the Apply Changes button to activate. If you don’t, it won’t work properly in the game. The nice thing is you can do this while WoW is running and tweak things as you go.

Warning!

You’ll notice off to the side there’s a Macro Editor. I don’t know enough about what constitutes a macro that could get your account banned, but I’d be very careful making macros using this for WoW. Make your macros ingame. If it can be done there using WoWs macro editor, then you’re probably safe. Anything outside of that is something I’m too chicken to mess with.

Is It Worth It?

I paid $70 for mine. It’s a little on the pricey side, but if you’re looking to improve your gameplay in PvP it’s definitely worth it. Even for raiding it’s a nice tool and I think as I continue to use it I’ll see some improvement there as well. My test night was difficult just because I ended up messing with my button configuration 30 minutes before the raid. Not a great idea.

So if you’re a hardcore gamer, I’d be surprised if you don’t already have something. If you’re just a casual gamer that isn’t worried about the little extra this is going to provide, it’s probably not worth your money. It’s improved my gameplay and I’m extremely happy with it. :)

7 Responses

  1. I was considering this yesterday in Best Buy, but it still felt awkward to me! I guess I have mutant tiny hands, or something, because I still needed to reach a fair bit to get to most of the buttons.

    I guess I’ll just stick with my crappy keyboard :)

  2. Isis! You’re alive! We miss you by the way. Hope all is well! :D

  3. This is NOT for people with small hands. It’s a great idea, but if you’re a small boned female-type person like I am, it’s very uncomfortable and unwieldy. A little like playing with the original Xbox controller was… possible, but not convenient or fun.

  4. They have discontinued support for this on the sly.
    http://www.notascoolasitseems.com/review/belkin-n52te-review-and-bit-more#sidetracked

  5. In order to stop the choppiness of the D-Pad, un-assign the diagonal parts and it should stop that problem.

  6. [...] the only one helping me out though… there is Nibuca, Hydra, (too many Locks?) how about Kyrilean, and this guy that has to know what he’s talking about because he introduces us to his Gnome! [...]

  7. I’ve been trying to get this thing to work well for WoW for a while, simply tried to configure the belkin keys to fit the 1-9 button spells, but the keys changes won’t apply so when I log in the game I’m still using the first settings of tab, a , z, caps lock etc, which is everything except handy when trying to make it work with the game. Tried to get software updates even though the thing is only a month old, which won’t do the trick either. Does anyone have an idea what I’m possibly doing wrong?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

