• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

9-11

September 10th, 2001 

I had just recently started working at Sundance Resort. Yes, the same place Robert Redford owns, who by the way is a pretty cool guy, not that he’d ever remember me. I was working in the Maintenance Department at the time and let me tell you this was one of my favorite jobs ever. I loved working there. One of the best friends I’ve ever had still works there. It’s a beautiful place if you ever get a chance to visit.

Because I enjoyed it so much, I loved waking up and going to work. But tomorrow was going to be a day I would never forget…

September 11th, 2001

Approx. 7:00am MDT – I turn on the TV to watch the news while getting dressed for work. A news chopper is headed towards the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center to investigate an apparent plane crash into one of the towers. I remember thinking to myself, “How blind do you have to be to fly into a tower?!” In the distance, you can see smoke billowing from the side of one of the towers. The cameraman zooms in on the tower in an attempt to see the tower a little better. The chopper is still a couple of miles away from the building.

7:03am MDT – As I sit at the dining room table putting on my boots a second plane appears in the lower corner of the camera and slams into the other tower. Shocked and confused I drop the laces to my boots…

The rest is history.

Today

It’s been 8 years. Sometimes it feels like a lifetime away. Other times it feels like it was only yesterday.

I remember being afraid. Very afraid. I was afraid of what was to come. I was afraid for my family. But as a wise one once said, “Fear leads to anger.” And like a prophecy my fear quickly turned to anger as I reached the point where my body could not live with the fear any longer. I found myself an Angry American among many. But as angry as I was, as scared as I was, I still to this day cannot imagine how the survivors and loved ones of those that lost their lives must have felt or still feel today.

angry puppy

I know that I’m angry. I think I’ll be angry for the rest of my life. And although the fire doesn’t burn as it once did, the embers still glow. Those embers burn because I’m angry that people exist out there that can treat others with such disregard. That some will hide behind religion to further their goals and recruit others to help them is something I’ll never understand. Sadly, many of those recruited probably believe strongly that they are doing the right thing.

I’m not picking on those in the Middle East. I strongly believe that Muslims as a majority are good people, but I believe that they have some rotten apples just like any other group of people. Anyone remember David Koresh?

Remember, it is one thing for God to condemn and persecute someone for their sins. It is entirely different for a person to do the same. We have no right to treat someone badly for their beliefs, but we just can’t seem to get past that whether in the real world or the world of Azeroth; just look at forum and trade chat trolls if you don’t believe me.

Remembering 9-11

I don’t work at Sundance anymore. Haven’t for many years now. I do work for a company that was fortunate enough to be a part of remembering this tragic day. Although I was not personally a part of this great monument, I am proud of the contribution we made in building the Pentagon Memorial that was dedicated last year on this day.

memorial

Each bench is oriented along the path of the plane as it crashed into the Pentagon. Each bench is inscribed with the name of one of the 184 victims on the end of the bench. If you are reading the name and see the Pentagon, that person died in the building. If you are reading the name and see the sky in the background, that person died on the plane.

My Request To You

I have several requests of my readers.

First, take a moment to remember and try to live this day with a little more understanding and acceptance than normal. Even if it means not making fun of that noob in trade chat for one day.

Second, I would ask you to forgive, but I don’t know that I can yet so that would be hypocritical. But if you’re able to, you’re a much stronger and better person than I. And for those of us that can’t, I ask you to not make the mistake of directing our unforgiving nature towards the innocents that are maligned due to their associated heritage.

Third, although I was taught that part of forgiveness is forgetting, I still view them as two entirely separate things. As such, if there’s one thing all of you do this day, regardless of what nationality or background you come from, please make sure to never forget.

9-11-01-logo

Never forget the people who lost their lives on this tragic day. Never forget the heroes of Flight 93 that lost their lives fighting back and through their actions saved the lives of an unknown number of people by preventing the terrorists from reaching their target. Never forget the courageous firefighters, police officers, and other emergency workers that lost their lives attempting to save others. Never forget this tragic day when a nation, when a world, mourned together. For a brief time, we were one. Never forget.

Fourth, where were you when the world stopped turning?

17 Responses

  1. The part where you mention it ”a world” mourning together, the hypocrit nature of many Americans arises.

    The tragic loss of life was indeed tragic, but not a world-event. If you look at the amount of people impacted and the amount of casualties, it is less than many catastrophes elsewhere in the world in the past 8 years. But somehow it’s apparently immensely more important.

    A bit of realism would help.

  2. @A goblin – Too bad you can’t see this for what it is. A post about humanity. Not race. Not religion. Not country. And unless you’re a true goblin, you’re a part of that humanity.

  3. @Goblin – You are so wrong. I clearly remember the world mourning on that day. Minutes of silence, message of sympathy and stuff happened all over the world. Plus if you want to look at the amount of people impact to have to take into account the follow up caused by that tragedy…which end up being a war in Irak and afghanistan! I think its a pretty huge impact on the world. (And i’m not american so you cant put that against me).

    @Kyr – I was at work (surfing the net…not working). And i was very happy because september 11 is my birthday. I turned 23 on that tragic day. Then i saw on the USA today web site that the first tower had been hit by a plane (they tought it was a Cesna or something small at the time). So i turned on the radio and every channel was talking about it…and then suddenly they announce that another plane had hit the second tower and that it was most likely a terrorist attack.
    By that time, everybody at work had stop working and were around my desk since i was the only one with a radio… I remember that everyone tought it would be the start of World War 3.
    Anyway, my birthday hasnt been the same since then.

  4. Ky, I don’t feel you should have to defend your post. Most people, unfortunately not all, understand what you were saying.

    The world did mourn, not because of the number of casualties, but the fact that terrorism had been taken to such an extreme, it was freighting. The world mourned because it could’ve been anyone, anywhere. The world mourned because it was disheartening to see that yes, there were people out there with such spite and hatred for another person they don’t even know, who would willing throw their life away and take as many innocent people with them as they could.

    Yes, the world did mourn that day, some are just too blind to see it. If it wasn’t as important as some would like to think, then can you tell me why today is recognized in other countries? Why, on that day, the news of our attack was aired on international television?

    This attack affected millions of people. Not just those who died, but what about those serving our country in the armed forces? What about their families? What about those over in the Middle East dieing because terrorism still reigns supreme? This attack 8 years ago was simply the first event in a domino effect that is still going today, taking more lives, injuring more people, causing more and more people around the world grief. Tell me the world did not mourn, and still isn’t mourning today, and I will show you a liar.

    Regardless,

    It was beautiful, your post gave me chills because I know I can relate to how you feel. What happened 8 years ago was meant to break us apart, but unified us and made us stronger.

  5. When I was a wee child, I lived in New York. I lived, in fact, in New York City, on what was at the time a Coast Guard base-Governor’s Island.

    I was young enough to swear that the shadow of the ferry was a whale, but old enough to remember.

    I lived within a couple of miles of those towers. I stopped watching footage (from California) as soon as I realized with a sickening lurch where much of it was taken-from a view I’d once had.

    I still don’t like to dwell on it.

  6. By the way, Happy B-Day Kotakh. =)

  7. [...] start, I want to direct you to Ky. A very emotional and moving post that gave me chills. I couldn’t have written anything [...]

  8. I chose a different way to remember 9/11. Im getting married today.

  9. @Darraxus – Congrats. I got married 3 years ago, it was one of the greatest day of my life…a ridiculously expensive great day but a great day nonetheless.

    @Mikata – Thanks :)

  10. I was at work as a Juvenile Corrections Officer, being a role model and an example to follow. I turn on the TV so that they can get a whiff of current events, and I turn the channel to the news. I was shocked and stunned.

    The WTC was billowing smoke, and word a plane crashed into it. I left the news on and watched…

    Eventually the truth of the attacks was released. I was angry, but who wouldn’t be?

    I am currently in the United States Air Force, and in all truth, that was one of the main reasons. I joined because I wanted to play a part in supporting my country and defending it. True, the events already had played out, but the fact is, I joined while our conflict against terrorism still remains.

    I am saddened by the losses created by this event, and I mean all the losses.

    @Goblin- I understand your point of view, but how can you say it wasn’t a world event? Did it not have an immediate or current impact on the world as we know it? Are things not changed because of it? The step-up of security measures on airlines, the Global War on Terrorism (yes GLOBAL, look at the amount of participation from nations across the world this event incited from countries like Britain, Australia, Germany, South Korea, etc…), and an overall increased awareness of people. These are all indications that this was a world event. No one is saying it was more important than other catastrophies, but it was significant and it was a world event…

  11. Great Post. Those who forget their past, are doomed to repeat it.

  12. For those showing their support, thank you!

    @Kotakh – Happy Birthday!

    @Darraxus – Congratulations!

    @Goblin, and others who may feel the same way, over 90 countries lost people on this day. This was not just an attack on the U.S.

    And like Armond said, I am not saying that this was more important than other catastrophes that occur around the world; for all life is precious. And to argue as Goblin did that this catastrophe was less than others because of the fewer casualties is more sad than I can ever express. The loss of a single life makes it no less profound than the loss of many.

    And although some of you won’t take this as proof, just Google Sept 11 for pics and you’ll find sites like this one. The world did mourn.

    The topic for how America reacted afterwards is an entirely different one than from the tragedy and I hope everyone understands that.

  13. @Ky

    I’m not a very overly emotional person, but it’s site like that which almost push me to the breaking point. Sites like that which make me tear up at work and duck my head down so no one sees me in my little cubicle.

  14. My youngest son was attending college at New York University in 2001. His dorm room had a perfect view of the towers, and he and his roommates saw them fall. They were then evacuated, as they were only a mile or two from the WTC. It was only afterwards that I realized how nearly he was a victim.

    @Goblin: Keep in mind, it was the WORLD Trade Center that was targeted and destroyed, and as Ky says, citizens of over 90 countries (including, ironically, Muslim nations) were targets and victims.

    Incidentally, in September 2001, I’d been working for a subsidiary of United Airlines for 4 months.

  15. 9-11 was a tragic event, perhaps the most tragic event in (very recent) modern history for the Western world. All those civilians lost because of blind religious hate and intolerance… whatever your political view may be, the loss of thousands civilians must be unacceptable.

    Having that said, I think it’s important to not only remember the events of 9-11 but also remember that there are a lot of people in the world suffering because of famine, war or disease (some of these we are responsible for). We in the West have lived relatively sheltered lives for generations and few of us know true suffering even after 9-11… and I think it’s important to remain humble about different cultures and peoples.

  16. @Wall: Good point, but keep in mind this, as well: We got through our Civil War, and got where we are today by helping each other. It wasn’t easy, and it wasn’t quick, but we didn’t kill off half of our people in the process.

    Most wars in progress today are within a single nation’s borders, between peoples indigenous to that country. Therefore, I think we should be very proud of what we in the US have accomplished, and continue to accomplish.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

