• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Crit By The Healing Meme

OK, all you healers out there are already aware of the healing meme/webring started by Miss Medicina going around. And I got tagged by Christine although she did it via a comment on my blog, and again by Amber. In fact, I got crit by the healing meme as I have four freaking healers!

OK, I’ll be a good a sport. Here’s how it works.

Post this questionnaire, with your answers, on your blog. Pick the healing class you know most about (or is the focus of your blog) for the questionnaire, and then send it over to another healing blogger you know and love who heals with a DIFFERENT class. Include a link to the blogger who sent you the questionnaire, as well as a link to the blogger to whom you are sending it.

  • What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?
  • Since I have one of each class and they are all main spec healers, I’ll just point out here that Kyrileanthos (Paladin) is my main toon, always has been, and always will be. That said, Erdkrieg (Shaman) is my main healing toon right now because we usually have access to at least one paladin healer, or at least other paladins for buffs, and Amber’s effectively recruited EVERY FREAKING PRIEST HEALER on our server and a few other servers as well so Maedchen (Holy Priest, cuz Disc Priests are just fooling themselves) is out. And then Selfreya (Druid) is somewhat undergeared for our current content, although the next time we do Ony25 I may have to beg to bring her along because she’s never going to get geared otherwise. So everyone wants my uberleet chain heals…yeah ok, they’re only interested in me for my heroism. Bastards!

  • What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)
  • Raids. I rarely run 5-mans anymore because I refuse to grind emblems and I get really bored of content that provides no challenge. I rarely if ever have healed in PvP. Most of you are well aware that I dislike PvP, although I’ll admit to having recently taken my Ret PvP gear in battlegrounds while tank spec’d. That was actually fun at times because I had a hard time dying, even though I couldn’t kill crap!

  • What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?
  • Paladin – Holy Light is just cool, especially when it crits! But honestly I’m a Flash of Light spammer.
    Shaman – Chain Heal because I like watching it fly all over the place and attempting to anticipate the best directions to cast it.
    Priest – Circle of Healing. I love the group aspect of this heal. Prayer of Mending is fun, but I have a hard time tracking it.
    Druid – Tranquility because it has a great animation. (Yeah it’s purty and I’m a guy! Sue me!) All kidding aside, I still haven’t figured out tree healing yet. I use Rejuv the most I think and Nourish too. Nourish is actually pretty cool.
    >

  • What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?
  • Paladin – I use them all. It used to be Holy Shock because it’s a very ineffecient heal, or was. I think they made it a lot better now and I’ve gotten more comfortable with the insta-cast FoL, because my HS crits a lot! Usually heals in the 7-8k range when it does. I always Beacon, even on trash. I judge. I spam FoL. And I use HL on tanks and emergencies on dps.
    Shaman – Healing Wave. I’m rarely on primary tank heals. Although I barely use Lesser Healing Wave either since the mana cost between that and Chain Heal is close enough to make Chain Heal the better choice when more than one person is taking damage, which is often.
    Priest – Divine Hymn and Greater Heal, although to be honest I think I have cast Greater Heal at least twice. Not sure I can say that about Divine Hymn.
    Druid – Lifebloom has to be a great healing spell, but I haven’t yet figured out how to best decide rolling it vs. letting it bloom. I also don’t have the mana pool to roll it anyway. As I said, I’m still fairly new to tree healing.
    >

  • What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?
  • Paladin – Tank healing. Beacon the tank taking the least damage. Heal the other one with Holy Light and you have a killer combination.
    Shaman – Throughput. Chain Heal can heal for a lot over multiple people. Mana regen is great. I only ever have mana issues when I die and self rez.
    Priest (Holy) - Versatility. I think the priest has a fuller arsenal of spells than any other class and can switch roles on the fly if necessary.
    Druid – Pre-emptive healing. A druids HoTs are amazing.

  • In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?
  • Paladin – Tanks.
    Shaman – Raid. Personally I’m not spec’d for tank healing, though I can still do it fairly effeciently.
    Priest (Holy) - Raid.
    Druid – Raid.

  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?
  • Paladin. Ever since the changes in Wrath, Paladins have become more versatile healers in the sense that they have more of an arsenal of things to deal with. When I don’t heal with my paladin after a while, it is somewhat of a struggle to remember how to juggle all the different spells. They may not have the versatility of a priest or the HoTs of a druid, but damn they’re fun!

  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?
  • Druid. I think this is primarily due to inexperience. The druid to me is a totally different type healer than the others. Even though Holy Priests have HoTs, I still play one as a reactive healer rather than proactive which seems to be pretty much what druids are. And I haven’t even tried Disc Healing which I think I’d find rather foreign too.

  • What is your worst habit as a healer?
  • Getting too comfortable watching the unit frames and not what’s around me. I run with a pretty good bunch of players, regardless of what some people say*, and it becomes very easy to get a little too comfortable that things will be OK regardless of if I’m paying attention. This makes it more difficult when I get back in a progression raid.

  • What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?
  • Someone who calls for heals. I have unit frames. Fancy enough, I can even see my screen. I don’t drink so I’m not squinting at the screen wondering which of the pretty colors are YOUR health bar. Asking me to heal you is like asking you to target hostiles and not the tank (minus any assist macros). And I admit to having let people die because asking for heals got annoying. I will more than likely continue to do so. I have a priority list and unless you’re the tank, who I’ll just yell at to “Shut Up!”, you will end up at the bottom. I will leave you to another healer or your own devices.

    I do need to point out my 2nd pet peeve. Range. Get in range. Seriously! Why do I have to tell you?! Can’t you see you’re 60 yards from the nearest healer in the raid?! WTF?!

  • Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?
  • God I hope not! I seriously hate this attempt to homogenize all the healing classes. What’s the point of having a squishy priest healer if the plate wearing paladin can raid heal just as easily? What’s the point of having a tank healer if say the Holy Priest could tank heal as good as or better than the paladin AND be able to raid heal all at the same time?

    I understand the problem a lot of guilds were having because of an excess in one class and lack in others, but to make them all balanced would be asinine. Each class should have something that sets them apart from the others. Keep homogenizing the classes and you may as well just make 3 classes total. Tank, healer, and dps. Don’t even give them special names like Warrior.

  • What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?
  • Used to use Recount a lot. I will from time to time still look at it, but I rarely evaluate myself on it anymore. The criteria I use is: Did my assignment(s) die and was mana an issue?

  • What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?
  • Paladin – Either that we can’t raid heal or that we should raid heal. We’re not the best raid healers, but we can still do it. I’ve been in groups where I was the only pally healer with priests, druids, and shamans available and been assigned to raid heal. Think that was an ego trip somewhere, but ok…
    Shaman – Can’t tank heal or heal 5-mans. I read a post somewhere this week, or last, where someone was ignored for a 5-man invite because he was a shaman. Sorry, can’t remember who wrote it. Must have had a bad experience, but that’s seriously ignorant.
    Priest – Although I’ve never healed Disc, I have run into several people that think Disc sucks because they’re always last on the meters. I’m not even going to comment further other than to say that people who evaluate healers solely on the numbers are bigger idiots than those that spec 100% into a single tree**.  Ironically, it’s those evaluators that usually pick on those that spec that way.
    Druid – Can’t tank heal. I’ve seen some pretty good druid tank healers.

  • What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?
  • Trick question. I think healing is fairly easy. It doesn’t take long to figure out which spells to use when. Even druid healing, which is still foreign to me, I’m pretty sure will be easy to learn. The difficult thing to learn is how to pay attention to your surroundings. It’s really easy to look at health bars all day long and never look at where you’re standing.

  • If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?
  • First, let me state that anyone who attempts to evaluate my performance using Recount is asking for a smack upside the head! The reason why is because I have run into too few people that know how to evaluate a healer using Recount. They look at the numbers and that’s it.

    Paladin – Flash of Light spammer, although come to think of it I do use Holy Light a lot more now in Wrath than in BC. Low overheals. High output.
    Shaman – High output. Low overheals. Chain Heal spammer to the extreme! We’re talking 65-70%. I know that’s probably bad and a really bad habit, but Healing Wave is rarely required and Lesser Healing Wave is only about 100 mana cost less than CH which will heal more people so… I do use Riptide a lot on the tanks though.
    Priest (Holy) – Middle ground output and overheals. Flash Heal and Renew spammer. I’d like to say I spam Circle of Healing, but with the cooldown I just cast it when I can. Low Prayer of Mending. I cannot for the life of me remember to keep this bouncing around and I’ve seen some healers have it as their highest heal!
    Druid – Haven’t played enough to see a consistent pattern.

  • Haste or Crit and why?
  • Paladin – Crit. Even with the Illumination nerf, I still get decent mana regen. Besides I get enough haste with Judgements of the Pure.
    Shaman – Haste. Faster chain heals. That’s one slow ass spell! And mana isn’t an issue with faster spells.
    Priest (Holy) – Haste. Slow heals again. Crit’s for Disc anyway.
    Druid – Not sure yet. My gear is a mix of nice epics and crap greens.

  • What healing class do you feel you understand least?
  • Druid. Lack of experience. I’ve healed a few 5-mans and no raids…at least that Amber and I can remember. We questioned it the other day and neither of us could remember. :)

  • What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?
  • Mouseover macros on all my heals, cleanses, etc.
    X-Perl
    Quartz
    Deadly Boss Mods & Big Wigs

    I cannot bring myself to configure Grid and I hated Healbot. I really need to sit down and configure PowerAuras. I’ve never gotten it to work quite the way I want though.

  • Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?
  • For paladins, I used to stack crit as high as it could go. To be honest, I really don’t care about my stats anymore. If I can get through a fight without experiencing major issues, like running out of mana, then I let the gear fall wherever it may fall. If I notice mana issues, or spell output not being high enough, then I’ll look at stats like spellpower, haste, crit, etc. Otherwise, I feel like I really have better things to do now.

    I suppose that’s sort of a lazy place to be and the road to a failplayer, but honestly I’ve lost interest in that aspect of the game due to…let’s call them personal issues and leave it at that. But this isn’t a rant so that stops here. :)

Consider yourself tagged Mikata!

*Yes, this is becoming a sore spot for me and this is my coward’s way of letting them know because I haven’t figured out how to broach the subject.
**I believe that you can spec however you want. It may not make a whole lot of sense to me, but if it does to you and you’re happy, then more power to you! You may not get invited to a whole lot of raids or instances, but that’s your choice too.

11 Responses

  1. That’s what I love about healing in WoW right now: there’s a style for everyone. :D I don’t enjoy paladin healing so much any more because it is so different from disc.

  2. ….. Ky…. KyKy…. My loveable darling Yoshii….

    IT’S RESTOMELEE…. No Hyphen….. >.>

    That’s twice now you’ve mistagged me…. nerd.

  3. [...] of balanced is whether we can perform the same jobs equally as well as other healers.  Kyrilean answered this question by saying no, but I disagree with him.  I think a Holy Paladin should be able to do the same job [...]

  4. [...] Miss Medicina’s non-meme questionnaire. Which I also read about on Tamarind, Oriniwen, and Kyrilean’s blogs. Since I’ve been a healer for such a short time, nobody’s likely to tag me so I tag me! [...]

  5. I moved from Healbot to VuhDo a few months ago and it seems to strike a nice balance between simple bone-stock and extremely configurable (Grid). I really like the way it pulls out tank frames exclusive from the rest of the raid and also pulls out duplicate bars for my healing crew.

    The biggest advantage of mouseover macros is that you can pull out the Blizzard raid frames and get the job done.

    I love PowerAuras though I don’t do anything complicated. I use it for simple reminders. Judgements of the Pure is not active. Judgement of Wisdom is not on your target. Infusion of Light is active, here’s a handy visual timer. Here’s a BIG ANNOYING ICON because Crusader Aura is active. Etc.

  6. [...] Miss Medicina’s non-meme questionnaire. Which I also read about on Tamarind, Oriniwen, and Kyrilean’s blogs. Since I’ve been a healer for such a short time, nobody’s likely to tag me so I [...]

  7. “To be honest, I really don’t care about my stats anymore. If I can get through a fight without experiencing major issues, like running out of mana, then I let the gear fall wherever it may fall. If I notice mana issues, or spell output not being high enough, then I’ll look at stats like spellpower, haste, crit, etc. ”

    I’m feeling very similar on my Druid when it comes to picking and choosing Resto gear. Haste loses it’s punch after getting around ~400 haste and Rejuvination can only crit with 4T9 so I’m not stacking crit for one HoT. Whatever is on the gear is on the gear as long as it has more stam, int, spirit and spellpower =\.

  8. [...] been debating for about a week whether to bring this topic to light. In fact, I hinted at it recently. Then Amber, Rivs, and Cel all hinted at it too so what the [...]

  9. Going over all these memes, I find them pretty good stuff.. and have to second this:

    “To be honest, I really don’t care about my stats anymore. If I can get through a fight without experiencing major issues, like running out of mana, then I let the gear fall wherever it may fall. If I notice mana issues, or spell output not being high enough, then I’ll look at stats like spellpower, haste, crit, etc. ”

    Pretty much how I look on my gear

  10. @Rahana – Last night in ToC25 while waiting as people disconnected and dealt with the hotfix install boss, I happened to be screwing around and started wondering how many JC tokens I had. So switching over to the appropriate tab…

    Lo and behold I have 106 Triumph emblems! ROFL!!! I’m still in my T7.25 gear just because. :)

  11. […] Miss Medicina’s non-meme questionnaire. Which I also read about on Tamarind, Oriniwen, and Kyrilean’s blogs. Since I’ve been a healer for such a short time, nobody’s likely to tag me so I […]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

