• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Happy 100!!!

Happy 100I sat here today trying to come up with something to write about.  I even finished up a draft on another humorous (at least I think they are) post and thought I’ve been doing a lot of those lately, I really should probably do something different.  As I stood looking at my dashboard on WordPress, I suddenly saw that I had 99 posts already.  This is my 100th post!

So maybe I should reflect back on what I’ve accomplished since the beginning.

/pause for dramatic effect
Wow not much!  That didn’t take long!
/pause for laughter
I didn’t know crickets were active this time of year.

Anyway, it was the middle of last January when my wife’s laptop blew up on us.  The motherboard fried and fortunately it was still under warranty.  My old laptop was by that time such a hunk of junk that it couldn’t even run WoW.  So I was left to deal with my withdrawals by surfing the net for WoW related items.

In hindsight, this was perhaps the best thing that could have happened to me.  I had no idea the internet held so much information about WoW!

Yes, I’m ashamed to admit it, but there was a time when I didn’t do research on my class or the game in general.  In my defense, I had only gotten Kyrilean up to level 70 in September, I think.  I had spent the next couple of months doing dailies and trying to figure out where to go next.  No one in my current guild had raiding experience or could point me in the right direction.  We were all new at this.

I did start trying to run Heroics, but having leveled primarily in the Protection tree until 65 and then switching to Holy was somewhat of a struggle.  I didn’t have  good handle on healing and I definitely didn’t understand the optimal stats and gear.  What I ended up with was a hybrid spec with hybrid gear none of which was ideally suited for the other.  Picture Holy spec with Protection and Retribution gear…I was a mutt!

It was during this time without a WoW capable computer that I spent a lot of time surfing the net to read about WoW. I needed to get my fix somewhere.  It was then that I stumbled on things like blogs, Be Imba!, WoWHead, Curse, and other sites. I admit that I didn’t use addons up until about this point. Now I’m an addon junkie.

I had recently started a new job and they weren’t loading me up with much to do initially, so there was a lot of time spent just sitting at work wondering what to do. After a while I started thinking, “Hey, I used to be able to write really well in school. I could do that.” Note that I did not admit that I was creative. I am of the opinion that the creative juices in me are not the greatest, but I do think I’m pretty good at B.S. As soon as I logged in I hit 450!  😀

So on January 14th, 2008 I started a blog which has underwent a few changes, but I’ve tried to keep at it. This blog isn’t as helpful as Siha’s, as intelligent sounding as Coriel’s, as entertaining asLarisa’s, or as funny as BRK’s, but it’s my outlet and that’s why I started it.

To be honest, I needed something to do to pass the time. Work was boring with nothing to do and I had a lot of time to think about my persona life which was a shambles. My wife and I were ready to call it quits. We have two young boys. Things were not the easiest and I was quite possibly at the darkest point of my life. Fortunately, this blog and WoW in general helped me through some of that and I have to admit that things have never been better between me and my wife, although I’m sure she wishes I’d give up the game.  😀

So Happy 100 to myself! There’s no rhyme or reason to this blog. It’s just a sounding board for me to get things off my chest and sort my thoughts. To those of you who read, thank you. For those of you who enjoy, I thank you even more and highly recommend you see a doctor.

Have fun playing!

2 Responses

  1. Happy 100!

  2. Thank you very, very much for the link love, I don’t know if I deserve it, but anyway, thank you! And congratulations to 100 posts and to the fact that you’re the owner to such an awesome blog with a tone and a style of its own. There’s no need at all to be humble!

    Blogging is a wonderful outlet indeed. If you’re frustrated in real life you can write about your frustrations in the game and it somehow helps to blow off some steam.

    Glad to hear though that your life seems to be a bit better now. And if things turn worse again… you always have your blog… 🙂

    Hugs from a fellowblogger

Comments are closed.

