• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

A Newbie Raider’s Guide: Learn To Take Criticism

Raid Leaders often take for granted that everyone understands raiding like they do. What they forget is that “once upon a time”, they were just as ignorant…

Learn To Take Criticism (or Putting Up With A-Holes)

This is perhaps the most important thing for you to learn if you want to raid. This isn’t to say that you should put up with abuse, but remember even the A-Holes have good advice if you can get past the crap they spew and past your own pride.

Keep your emotions in check at all times. Sure some nights are worse than others, but if you find yourself upset follow these guidelines:

  • Swallow your pride.
  • Clam up. If asked a direct question, give short answers without elaborating. People will probably know your upset, but the main thing is to not say something you’ll regret.
  • Stay with the raid. As hard as this is sometimes, the raider that stays, even while upset, usually makes a better showing than one that leaves the raid or asks to be replaced.
  • If all else fails, ask to be replaced, but do not abandon the raid. In most raiding guilds that’s grounds for removal.

Find The Positive In The Worst Situations

Very few people seem to be able to give constructive criticism. Most times it comes off in a negative way, but there are ways to find the positive in the worst situations. It appears to be human nature to point the finger at someone else, because I can’t possibly be the reason why we failed! So learn to ignore the person, but listen to what he or she is saying.

If someone tells you, “you suck”, try to figure out why they’re saying that. It may be because they just need someone to blame. Calmly analyze the situation. As a healer you might ask, are my heals not good enough? Are my targets dying? Am I running out of mana? Why am I running out of mana? Am I using the right combination of heals?

Let’s say you’re running out of mana. Why? Do I need better gear? Are other healers experiencing the same problem? If not, what are they doing different? If so, is the dps just not there and the fight is taking too long? What can I do outside of raid to better prepare for this situation again? Are there upgrades somewhere else I can easily get to boost myself and help the raid?

Sometimes analyzing the situation only leads you to believe that it isn’t your fault. Raiding takes a group effort to succeed, but it also takes a group effort to fail.

Remember, unfortunately there’s a lot of jerks out there and John Gabriel’s Greater Internet Dickwad Theory seems to hold true. But that doesn’t mean you can’t learn from it! 🙂

5 Responses

  1. In my opinion, when you have a wipe, one additional question must be: What can i do to increase my performance further.
    Even if i made nothing wrong, actually made it almost perfect you must ask this question

  2. I don’t have too much problem with criticism from other people. It’s MYSELF!

    As a healer, anyway. We don’t talk about The Day I Tanked Utgarde Keep and had a total breakdown because a guildie told me I sucked…

    Maybe I should bookmark this post, eh?

  3. @ Ambrosyne – we’re our own worst critics! 🙂

  4. […] am not saying or advocating that raiders need to take abuse, but I am saying learn to take criticism for what it’s worth. Some people just like the sound […]

  5. […] right Ky, I’ve got my gear and grown a thick skin. Where’s the raid? […]

Comments are closed.

