• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

A Newbie Raider’s Guide: Raiding Is Expensive

Raid Leaders often take for granted that everyone understands raiding like they do. What they forget is that “once upon a time”, they were just as ignorant…

How much gold do you have?

Ky!

What?

You can’t ask that! That’s pretty personal information. I know it’s a game, but you don’t just go around asking people how much money they have!

Why not?

/sigh

Raiding Is Expensive

It never ceases to amaze me how often people complain about repairs. Clothies complain about the 20-30 gold repairs and plate-wearers complain about the 100-120 gold repairs. On bad nights, feel free to multiply that by 2 or 3!

But guess what my would-be raider?! RAIDING IS EXPENSIVE!!!

You need gold not only for repairs, but for:

  • Food
  • Runic Mana/Health Potions
  • Elixirs – Guardian and Battle
  • Flasks – in lieu of elixirs (I carry both)
  • Scrolls -most people forget these or they’re trumped by buffs
  • Gems
  • Enchants
  • Reagents
  • Etc.

It always surprises me how we focus on the repairs and often forget the other costs. Remember it’s money that makes things happen!

It’s Money That Makes [Raiding] Go ‘Round!

Gold

So how do you ensure that you always have enough gold on hand? Well there are a number of ways:

  • Quests – At level 80 regular quests often give upwards of 20g as a reward. Don’t forget Daily Quests as you need the rep anyway.
  • Farming – Use your gathering professions to farm ore, herbs, and leathers. Sell it on the AH. Clear your bags. As you kill mobs pick up everything and vendor everything not of value. You’d be surprised at how fast it adds up. Get an enchanter to DE greens for you to sell on the AH.
  • Professions – Find something you can make that sells on the AH. I’m not talking about the really expensive stuff that sells once in a while. I’m talking about the stuff that sells consistently even at lower prices. Sell enough of it and you’ll have a steady cash flow.
  • Play the AH – Highly recommend you only do this if you know what you’re doing. What I mean by playing the AH is “buy low, sell high” among other things. If you’re interested in it, highly recommend you check out Gevlon’s site or The WoW Economist site.

Looks like a lot of work there Ky.

It is, but all is not lost! Here are at least three ways you can save some time and money.

Cooking & Fishing

Most people I know don’t even have their cooking maxed let alone have even touched their fishing skill since level 15. If this is you, be prepared to spend money. If not, you are already saving money. Do the daily cooking quest in Dalaran. All of them are pretty easy and you need the  Northern Spices to cook the best food buffs for raiding. As I’m leveling alts, I send all my Chilled Meat to my main. That way I never have to worry about going out and farming those.

I hated leveling fishing, but I enjoy it now. I think it’s because the only purpose way back when was to level. The purpose now is to get the food I need for raids. If you can’t bring yourself to fish, find someone you can make a trade with. Then again you may not need fish for whatever food buff you’ve chosen.

Wheel-and-Deal

Find someone you know and trust and work out a deal. Farm food buffs for them while they farm flasks and elixirs for you. Make scrolls for them while they make gems for you. See where I’m going? Work out a trade of some kind where someone excels at what you need and you excel at what they need.

Pick A Day

calendarThe best way I save time and money is by farming the items I can get. I spend 1-2 hours usually early Saturday morning getting enough items to last me for an entire week’s worth of raiding. That way I never have to worry about it, can come home, log in, and jump into raiding. I find that picking a day and time that’s set aside keeps me in the habit of always being ready.

You probably won’t find this to be the most exciting part of the game, but remember raiding isn’t just going in and downing bosses. There’s a lot of preparation involved and that preparation is expensive in both time and money. Good luck!

4 Responses

  1. Good stuff. I think a lot of people starting out get “sticker shock”.

    Me, I want dailies that give me money for healing things. Preferably ones that don’t involve me going out where horde can kill me.

    Whatcha think? 😀

    I personally don’t mind the expense much. Hell, now that we’ve started RetroRaiding, I get 100g from that, which funds a good chunk of my normal raiding on all but the crappiest of nights.

    SSC for profit and revenge! Good times!

  2. Picking a day really works great. We’ve done this as a guild wide thing, which makes it even better.

    People can call out resource nodes they don’t need for anyone that’s around, and you get less invites for groups and that sort of thing because everyone is doing the same as you.

    Not to mention that when people are bored farming and fishing, vent and gchat can get pretty interesting.

  3. @ Ambrosyne – Dailies for healing things? That’d be cool. Maybe more quests like the one in Storm Peaks that has you bandage the wounded earth guys fighting the iron dwarf guys.

    @ AC – never thought of doing it as a guild activity, but that’s not a bad idea. I’ve done that for dailies before, but not for farming.

  4. Bear in mind that the more you raid, the more gear you get and the more experience with encounters you will obtain. Sooner or later, raiding isn’t AS expensive because you don’t waste consumables and you don’t have to repair as often.

    Of course, once that happens Blizz releases new content and you are back to progression raiding – wiping on bosses while learning and blowing through stacks and stacks of food,elixirs, etc.

    With regards to dailies, if you do them, make sure you aim for the ones that benefit you the most rep wise. You would be surprised how many people farm rep by doing dailies only to figure out that it was the wrong rep faction for the head glyph, shoulder enchants or patterns that they wanted. 😀

Comments are closed.

