• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Mining: Sholazar Basin

A couple of months ago I started the long grind to get my Mammoth mount, the one with the repair guy. I spent a lot of time farming in Sholazar Basin and when my fellow guildies caught wind of how much gold/day I was making they wanted to know where I farmed.

I screwed around and made my first video. Please excuse the fact that I spelt Sholazar wrong…I did it really fast and it was just for practice anyway.

In order to make gold, you need something that sells. In this case I was selling Saronite Ore, Eternal Shadows, Eternal Earth, and an occasional Titansteel Bar.

At the time I was doing this the AH prices for Saronite Ore were about 1g each. That may not seem like much, but when you consider that in my video I was able to farm 36 ore in 8 min it was adding up fast! To make the math easy let’s say I farmed 40 Saronite Ore in 10 min. In one hour that was 240 Saronite Ore or 240 gold!!!

My video doesn’t show it, because I forgot to clear out my bags before starting, but I was averaging about 5 Eternal Shadow and 5 Eternal Earth per hour. Both were selling between 6 and 7 gold at the time. Selling those as well and I was easily netting about 300 gold an hour with the Saronite Ore included.

I was also finding Titanium Ore on a fairly regular basis and usually could get enough for 1 Titalsteel Bar in that hour which was selling for roughly 175g at the time. Add everything together and it’s about 500 gold for an hour’s worth of work.

I haven’t done this in a long time after getting my mount so I don’t know how well this works anymore, although I recently checked prices on the AH and they’re roughly the same. The real question is do they still sell?

2 Responses

  1. Ha!

    you sound like a PhD Ky… 😉

    What appl do you use for recording? would love to surprise my guild m8’s with one.

    Best from Spain!
    Hashi

  2. LMAO!

    My dad’s a professor of anthropology at a college. Maybe that’s why. 🙂

    I used Fraps.

Comments are closed.

