• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Weekend Update: Rep, Dungeons, and The Stranglethorn Fishing Extravaganza

weekendupdate

Friday. Ran 25 man Naxx and it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t pretty.  My memory is already fuzzy since I’m trying to put it out of my mind, but I think we downed about 4 bosses in 5 hours. Did we wipe, you ask? We did some, but not terribly bad. It’s those blasted AFKs!!! I swear we wasted 2 hours just in AFKs alone!

Saturday. Ran 10 man Naxx with Maedchen and got some new gear. No I don’t remember what, but I don’t care. I play to raid and I end up getting gear eventually anyway. That said, I think I was second on DPS and was the third least geared person in the group according to InventoryOnPar. Not trying to put people down, but that just says something isn’t right.

Saturday/Sunday. Worked on a few new achievements for Kyrilean.

Yup, finally got Exalted with Sporeggar and Cenarion Circle. If I never go to Silithus again it’ll be too soon! Sporeggar wasn’t too bad as I was already Revered. Cenarion Circle I was only Honored and not by much.

I’ve got 27 Exalted reputations right now and for some dumb reason I’m dying to get as many to Exalted as I can. So I headed over to the Timbermaw to try and do that. I was already about 300 points into Hated, but I killed a bunch of furbolg to get me started. Once I got to Honored, I could feel my brain oozing out of my ears so I decided to go find the Wintersaber Trainers and get that started. That one’s going to kill me…

Classic Dungeons. So many of them that I missed. I decided to run Wailing Caverns. I’d never been there. By the way…it sucks!

Oh yeah, almost forgot. I decided to try the Stranglethorn Fishing Extravaganza for the first time yesterday. Oh and I won! 🙂

I was so nervous getting ready for it. This is an achievement I’ve been wanting to get ever since it came out. It’s also an event I’ve wanted to do for about a year now, but I never found the time as I was usally raiding.

Anyway, I was reading El’s Extreme Anglin’ for some tips and because Wailing Caverns had taken so long, I was almost late. I set my hearthstone at the inn in Booty Bay and ran out to the beach to the northeast. Actually I started a little north of that sea giant on the coast. I initially tried to be friendly by not “stealing” any pools from people, but there must have been hundreds of people everywhere. Most pools ended up with 3-4 fishermen. So I said screw it and fished with everyone else.

I was pretty sure I wouldn’t win after I saw how many people were doing this event. I even saw one person begin hearthing back to Booty Bay and was certain she had won, until she ran past me a little later and no announcement had been made. I’m guessing she caught a rare fish???

Anyway, I won and decided to grab the Hook of the Master Angler. Check it out!

I could have instead taken the Arcanite Fishing Pole, but I like the Mastercraft Kalu’ak Fishing Pole and for +5 more fishing skill, it didn’t seem worth it. Who knows maybe I’ll do this again to get it.

AfterwardsI stayed around to try and get one of the rare fish, but gave up after about 45 min. The rewards are Nat Pagle’s Extreme Anglin’ Boots, High Test Eternium Fishing Line, and Lucky Fishing Hat. I’ve already got a Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat which is better anyway. Besides, when you’re maxed out with fishing, do you really need those last few points? Maybe not, but it’s still fun to do if you’re into fishing.

So what did you do this weekend?

2 Responses

  1. If you thought grinding Furbolgs was tedious at Honored, wait until you are Revered.
    At that point you cease getting rep for killing them , and only get it for the rep items that you hand in. Tedious.

  2. NOOOOOOOO! I missed the STV Tourney by less than 30 seconds yesterday. Some DK and his party were griefing me with their water-walking on top of my lure. I’m certain that cost me the event. It’s the only thing left for my Salty title.

    Won it first time? Arrrrrgggghhhhh!

    Grats, btw 🙂

Comments are closed.

