• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

So Long And Thanks For All The Fish…

To <ICESTORM>:

This is my last post as a member and Co-GM of the guild. In order to keep rumors down I’d like to explain why I’m leaving.

The first reason is because my priorities have changed. I came to a point where I only want to raid 3-4 times per week, maybe less. I still like playing every single night, but I don’t ever want to feel like I have to be raiding.

The second reason is the daily stress of running the guild. For those of you that have never had the opportunity to run a guild, you may or may not be surprised by the amount of effort it takes to make things happen. As an officer you are obligated to provide raid opportunities for the members, but this is very difficult when members have refused to do even the smallest of things (i.e. sign up) to help us organize raids.

The third reason revolves around loot drama. It never ceases to amaze me how much value is placed on loot. When we went to the one item per raid rule, we had several people complain about not being able to roll on tier items and if they had only known they wouldn’t have “wasted” their roll. The idea behind a single item per raid was that there’s only so much loot that drops and only so many people. If someone gets an item is it really fair to allow them to get second, even tier items, before someone else gets at least something? (Based on our rank rules of course, meaning Raid Members get multiple items before Members.)

It also has become increasingly frustrating to see some extremely geared members complain about undergeared or underperforming raiders getting loot over them. It also surprises me that these same people forget how much loot they themselves have gotten over the past few months and seem to project an attitude that they deserve more.

Why is it that few people can ever understand that a small upgrade for one amounts to a lot less for a raid group than a large upgrade to another? Do we not raid to raid? Do we not go back in week after week? Guess not, which is one reason why I’ve decided to leave.

I’ve cut this down shorter than it was originally, but suffice it to say that no matter what we do there will always be someone who isn’t quite happy. My point of view is that gear comes to those that wait. I know part of it is a matter of trust for some of you newer members. Trust the officers. Everyone will get what they need and deserve and even some of the not so deserving will get it eventually too.

As a result of the stress and frustration, over the past month or so, I have distanced myself from some of the general responsibilities I felt were necessary to keep things going. In fact, I distanced myself from the guild and raiding quite a bit. I’ve tried to regain my desire to raid, but with all the drama and frustrations I haven’t been able to get it.

What I really need is change. That change will include a server transfer. The advantage of a server transfer is the chance at getting a good raid time and since I want to try and regain my desire to raid; that’s the most attractive option. I’d be surprised if any other guild on this server raids at our times. The disadvantage is the number of friends I leave behind.

I’ve been told time and time again that it’s the same everywhere else and I’m sure it is. The difference will be that I will no longer be responsible for making things work and keeping people happy. I can now concentrate on trying to be happy myself in game. Selfish? Yeah I guess it is.

To the Members:

If you want to succeed at raiding, I want you to keep one thing in mind. Others count on you.

Imagine running a heroic over and over until you almost feel like you can do it in your sleep. Imagine then your dismay when running that heroic weeks and even months later with a group only to find you keep wiping in the dumbest of places. How frustrated are you when you discover that it is because someone in the group isn’t carrying their weight? They haven’t gemmed and enchanted their gear, have the oddest of specs for their class, do less dps than the tank, or just stand around taking forever to actually do anything. This is how the serious raiders in this guild feel. We all know we can do this if the ones that are lacking do a little research on their toons, enchant and gem their gear, research gear upgrades, do dailies, repair, come prepared, etc.

Research your toon. Read the patch notes. Figure out how it affects you. The “be-all-end-all” spec of today is the “noob-spec” of tomorrow. This game constantly changes so stay up on it. The little things count and anyone who says otherwise is an idiot.

For some of you newer raiders, and even some of you veteran raiders, I have created a series of “Newbie Raider Guides” on my blog. Yes, I have a blog that I’ve been working on for just over a year now that is all about WoW. It originally started out as just something to do and has blown up into something where I actually have a regular following of readers (God knows why…) I’m no expert by any means on any aspect of the game, but the “Newbie Raider Guides” are getting alot of positive feedback and are one of my most active hits. In fact one ended up referenced on WoW Insider which I’m pretty proud of. Take it for what it’s worth, which is advice. It isn’t the be-all-end-all.

Our guild website has several links to other helpful websites and blogs. Find them. Use them to help you find more. My blog has even more than I’ve posted here and each of those has more. You’d be surprised at how many people write about this game on a daily basis. Call them geeks if you will, but their knowledge can help you.

I’d urge you to use the forums a lot more to communicate with each other. It’s a valuable tool when used properly. In some cases, you can work out issues and questions with class changes, etc. but you an also use it as a forum to build a social environment which hopefully makes you a tighter knit group as a raiding guild. Any raiding guild that says they’re in it solely for the numbers is a crap guild. You need performance, but you need that comfort level with each other that makes it fun and worthwhile.

To the Officers:

If I have one piece of advice, it’s stay consistent. If you cannot be consistent, you will not earn the trust of the members.

I love this guild. This is a hard decision. I have loyalties to several of you and the guild. I know that the principles we set this guild up with are what has made it survive and what will keep it alive. But I think the weakness we have had in the past is the consistency. Make a decision and stick to it. Exceptions will exist, but communicate those exceptions to all so it’s understood.

To All:

So long and thanks for all the fish… 🙂

12 Responses

  1. What a fantastic farewel letter. A real testament with great advice to everyone. It’s sad reading, but after following you for a while, your struggles and worries, I can’t help feeling a bit releaved and hopeful on your behalf. I hope, or rather, I really believe that you’ll straight out things at your new server. You need and deserve a fresh start. All the best to you. I’m looking forward to hear reports from your new adventure. To the stars!
    /hug

  2. […] over at the excellent blog Casual Hardcore has decided to leave is current guild and seek fame and fortune elsewhere. And he does it with a style that s all […]

  3. As stated in the 4th step of a fantastic /gquitting guide, this is making the best of it…

    Good luck Ky, hope to follow you on this new adventure, on a casual hardcore way!

    Best from Spain

  4. @ Larisa – Thank you. Actually I started writing this after your post about pre-writing your farewell letter. It went through many revisions as time went on.

    I probably should have done this weeks ago, but I kept hanging on because of Dyna, Raquoon, Miamoon, Kemprye, Zeza, Shrielkul, Kyra, Warnpii, and Sollenni.

    I regret not being able to get time to know the few fantastic members from Royal House of Azeroth that were slowly migrating over to our guild and had helped with our 25 man raids even before joining.

    @ Hashishin – Yeah, it had to be done. 🙂

  5. You may have left with style in the blog world, but as your friend, I’m having trouble understanding how a simple guild change wouldn’t have worked. Why’d you have to completely leave the server? I could understand it if you’d left Icestorm and still hated the server. I left Icestorm for personal reasons last year, and I was a founding co-GM, but I have still been able to maintain my friendships with you guys. Although I’m hurt and upset, thank you for the mail letting me know you were leaving (although I did have to search my friends list to find out who was missing since it was from “Unknown”). I think you really hurt Dyna’s feelings, though, because he didn’t get one. I hope the lack of responsibility and leadership relieves your WoW stress. Having fun is what’s important, in my opinion.

  6. @ Sollenni – I mailed you because you were out of guild. I didn’t mail Kyra or Dyna because they were in guild and I left my farewell on the forums.

    I started to write Dyna, but kinda got choked up about it, so didn’t. I left yours very basic as it was and it wasn’t easy writing.

    I didn’t stay on server, because I couldn’t imagine myself being in any other guild there. The idea of running around and seeing was one I wasn’t sure I could handle. Believe me I considered that option for weeks.

    But I highly doubt that any decent raiding guild raids before 5pm server. Pacific Coast server. East Coast player. Trust me, I looked a lot.

    Although I didn’t leave the guild because of several people, Dyna was the main reason I didn’t leave for a really long time. Dyna’s been my best friend for over a year now (in-game and real life) and it made it very difficult to make the decision. I avoided the decision for so long because of him.

    As it is, I still have alts on Arathor and will be visiting from time to time. Hopefully that will count for something, because I still consider you guys my best friends.

    This is hard enough to write, as I don’t like wearing my emotions on my sleeve, unless it’s anger and frustration, so I’ll stop now.

    I will miss you guys.

  7. I know you’ve been struggling with this decision for a while. I hope that the fresh start turns out to be exactly what you need. Best of luck to you on your new server.

    Also, ❤ the Hitchhiker reference! You rock.

  8. oh well… if all else fails you can still move back in say one month time? I think that’s the penalty time after moving to another server 🙂

  9. @ ByStander – “penalty time” LOL! Yup, 30 days before another transfer can occur.

  10. I know I should have said something before now… and for that I am sorry. I guess i kinda knew it was coming, but got kinda hurt with how it happened. I know thats silly, but it is what it is. I wish u all the luck and I will miss you. You have been a good friend for the last year. I dont like goodbyes, maybe it just farewell for now. IDK but keep yourself well, and enjoy the game…. thats really what it is all about. See you 🙂

  11. […] 2009 March 8 by Wildwynd kyrilean over at the excellent blog Casual Hardcore has decided to leave is current guild and seek fame and fortune elsewhere. And he does it with a style that s all […]

  12. […] I also talked about other things like gquitting, started my Newbie Raider Guides of which one ended up being quite popular, and after several rants, burnout, etc. I finally posted a farewell to my guild. […]

Comments are closed.

