• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Things We’re Taught Not To Do

In relative order of importance:

  • eat crayons
  • chew gum from underneath the table
  • lie
  • cheat
  • steal
  • kill
  • eat yellow snow
  • read PTR notes

There’s a reason why I haven’t ever talked about patch notes: things change. Why get worked up about something that may or may not happen? Besides, the changes themselves won’t get me to quit the game so I’ll learn to adapt if I get nerfed anyway. I also rarely PvP and that always seems to be where the majority of crying comes from.

That said, I still read the notes though not as in depth as some of you and often I miss several builds. Here are my thoughts on the few items that may or may not affect me from Build 9658:

General

  • The achievement Brew of the Year has been removed from the Brewmaster meta-achievement. The achievement Brew of the Month has been added in its place. Yay!
  • Noblegarden has been redesigned into a week-long holiday with new items, quests, and more. Various achievements have been added, including the meta-achievement Noble Gardener, which is now required for the meta-achievement What A Long, Strange Trip It’s Been. Cool! I like the holiday events, except the random drop crap and more time is always good.

Classes: General

  • Haste Rating: Shamans, Paladins, Druids, and Death Knights now receive 30% more melee haste from Haste Rating. Shaman is lvl 64 now, but hasn’t been played more than 1 hour since the expansion. Paladin was only Ret during leveling to 80 so I’ll never notice the effect, but more haste is good, right? Dual specs, here I come!

Death Knight, Druid, Hunter, Mage, Warlock, Warrior

  • Low levels, little play time, or just haven’t touched in months. I’d never know the differences.

Paladin: Holy

  • Hand of Sacrifice: The damage transferred by this ability is now capped by the Paladin’s health.
    Forbearance reduced to 2 min duration. I don’t use this.
  • Sacred Shield: This effect cannot be cast on more than one friendly target at a time. *grumble* I rarely used it on more than the tank, but there were times I cast it on as many melee as I could.
  • Aura Mastery: Now makes anyone affected by Concentration Aura to be immune to Interrupt and Silence mechanics and increases the effectiveness of all other auras by 100%. Lasts 10 sec. 2 min cooldown. Might be nice. Never bothered with Concentration Aura as it is now because with the change to only 2 interrupts per cast, it never seemed to be needed. But I am curious as to whether this will now be a spell or something that just procs when the target is affected by an interrupt or silence?
  • Blessed Hands: No longer reduces cooldowns of Hand spells. Instead, it improves the effectiveness of Hand of Salvation by 50/100% and Hand of Sacrifice by an additional 5/10%.Never use these. Might be a bad pally, but once Salv was changed, I figure any DPS dumb enough to pull aggro with the new mechanics deserves to die. Too busy healing to watch someone else’s aggro.
  • Enlightened Judgements: No longer increases the range of Judgement of Justice. Moved to Tier 10. Only ever use this in PvP anyway.
  • Infusion of Light: Now increases the critical chance of your next Holy Light by 10/20% instead of reducing cast time. Moved to Tier 10. This blows! My Holy Crit is already 34%-35% unbuffed and crits a lot! I would love more crit, but at this point I really like having the quicker HL.
  • Judgements of the Pure moved to Tier 9. Whatever it takes.
  • Sacred Cleansing moved to Tier 8. Don’t use it anyway.

Priest: Shadow

  • Mind Melt: Now also increases the periodic critical strike chance of your Shadow Word: Pain, Devouring Plague and Vampiric Touch spells by 3/6%. I’ll take it.

Glyphs

  • Glyph of Holy Light: Can no longer crit and has had its range updated. *AAAARRRRGGHHH!!!* Take away just a little more of whatever small group heals we have.

This is why I should never read PTR notes. I’m better off eating yellow snow…

4 Responses

  1. Just cast Salv on Ern periodically, all you need to know.

    😄

  2. I like the order of your list lol. Made me chuckle

  3. @ thedoctor – LOL! I was wracking my brain trying to come up with a post when this came to me. I have an odd sense of humor at times, but if I made you chuckle, I did my job. 🙂

  4. The change to Holy Light glyph is a bit painful, but it’s still better than what we had before… which was nothing, lol.

Comments are closed.

