• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Bored

OK, I admit it. I’m bored.

Looking back, I wonder how much this contributed to my frustrations over the past few months?

Either way, I’m bored. How bored, you ask?

burnout2

Pretty damn bored!

Over the past month or so I started going after achievements. Achievements are fun. I admit I’m a junkie. One of my most recent achievements is 3000 Quests Completed. I’ve been working on getting to exalted with 2 more factions to finally hit 40 Exalted Reputations and also finding low level quests to complete Loremaster of Kalimdor and Loremaster of Eastern Kingdoms. I need less than 100 on the former and less than 60 on the latter. Those quests are getting hard to find by the way, which is making it more of a struggle to keep from getting bored and grinding rep is never fun.

As it stands I have:

    Total Achievements: 424 / 749
    General Achievements: 35 / 53
    Quest Achievements: 42 / 49
    Exploration Achievements: 68 / 70
    Player v.s. Player Achievements: 35 / 149
    Dungeons and Raids Achievements: 99 / 216
    Professions Achievements: 62 / 72
    Reputation Achievements: 28 / 44
    World Events Achievements: 55 / 96

If you notice, short of the Dungeons and Raids achievements, which will just take time, the big gap is in PvP.

How bored am I?

Enough to PvP… /sigh.

So, since I’m probably going to do it anyway, I need help. The last time I truly took a shot at PvP was over a year ago when I needed gear to do heroics in BC. I did battlegrounds for a month and a half to get healing gear. It was brutal. I died a lot. I had no clue as to what I was doing.

Not much has changed. 🙂

I’ve found various info out there for PvP specs, gear, etc. but I’m totally lost. I have no idea where to start. I like the idea of participating in arena battles, but I don’t want to burden anyone with my ignorance.  I don’t know where to get the gear to begin, because it doesn’t look like with battlegrounds.

So where do I go to read up on strategy and even more importantly where do I go to figure out where to start out with gear?

And anyone interested in starting an intervention for me…stop me, please!

/cries in corner

7 Responses

  1. That’s REALLY bored

  2. We could do a 2v2. With two holy pallys. And just be obnoxious and heal each other. What d’ya say?

  3. @ Amber – I can’t stop laughing!

  4. I hear you. I decided yesterday to spend 180 emblems of Valor on hateful pvp gear.

    Now I just gotta enchant and gem then and then look for a partner to do 2s or 3s for points.

    I used to visit arena junkies forums for tips I haven’t visited that site for awhile now so I’m not sure if its still current.

  5. As a quick question for you, what do you have done and what do you want to do with PvP ?
    Do you only seek the achievements ? Then battlegrounds are your turf, the Arena will only give you something like 2 achievements easily : participating in a match and winning one (that has to happen even if it is after 20 defeats).

    For battlegrounds what will be your class and do you have a spec that you want to stick to ? I’d guess it will be pally healing, and that is perfectly fine with both arenas and battlegrounds (I’ve done that enough to tell ^^).

    Obviously it is easier to PvP with some PvP stuff, but that is not such a huge requirement for a healadin. Being fully epic in 10 men or better raiding gear is wayyyy enough for bgs (perhaps not for the arena :p).

    You can do all five of them, and when a match seems to be long enough, target some of the hardest achievements, such as the ones requiring to do a lot of things in the same bg.
    You’ll easily find a lot of achievements to do in Arati Bassin and The Strand of the Ancients. Obviously also in Alterac Valley.

    Now, one thing you’ll not be able to do as a healdin is get the “kill” achievements, unless you’re very lucky, you won’t kill much things, even if you can get a good load of honorable victories.

    And then comes Lake Wintergrasp, there are a *lot* of achievements there and you can get at least 5 to 10 in about 3 battles. Try everything, the siege engines, the defense canons ..etc

    One last thing, in battleground don’t forget … the rule is “stick to your buddies” a healadin is worth nothing solo, even if you’re hard to kill, you dps like a toad 😀
    So stay with the group, all these DKs and hunters and mages will love your heals and give you these honorable victories you want (100-500-1000-5000-10000 … etc achievements).

    Don’t forget, have fun, bgs can be from time to time 🙂

  6. @ Herc – I’m an idiot. I forgot you can use emblems…

    @ Dreaming – Mostly I’m looking at PvP as a way to hopefully get back to having fun with the game. I’ve leveled 2 toons to 80 and raid with them. I’d like to level one of each class to 80 someday, but there’s only so much of the same thing you can do; achievements, raiding, questing, leveling, and farming included.

    With dual specs on the horizon I’ll probably go a pvp ret spec, cuz as you say healing in pve gear works just fine in BGs. If I get into Arena I may do a pvp heal spec instead.

    As for kill achievements, fortunately it appears I’m getting credit for kills if all I do is damage them. I may even be getting kills for non-damage, but not sure. Things are happening too fast, but I often judge, consecrate, and holy shock.

    Wintergrasp is actually fun for me though the lag really sucks.

  7. […] Posted on January 11, 2010 by kyrilean It’s been nearly a year since I decided to pursue this, but I finally knuckled down this week and got […]

Comments are closed.

