• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Casual. Hardcore. It’s All Semantics

“Casual guilds contain fine examples of players like DKs who show up in spell damage gear.”Amber.

Casual. Hardcore. It’s All Semantics.

Any time someone talks about a Casual Raiding Guild, someone inevitably says they don’t exist. I’m here to refute that. Casual Raiding Guilds exist. There are those that succeed and those that fail.

My blog is entitled Casual Hardcore because I believe in and want to be in a casual guild with a “hardcore” approach to raiding. As noted in the comments to Amber’s post this would probably fall in with Brent’s Medium Intensity Raiding Guild.

What it boils down to is semantics. What does casual and what does hardcore really mean?

Many of us think the negative things about “casual” players when thinking about raiding. They don’t come repaired, missing enchants/gems, have no gold, pots, elixirs, flasks, or buffs, etc. These are true. These are descriptions of some casual players, but only some. Casual can also mean laid back.

Ultimately for me casual means not dictating how or when I play. If I want to try a new spec, then that’s my prerogative and everyone else can keep quiet about it. If I don’t want to gem or enchant a certain way, then shut up and leave me alone. If I decide I only want to raid one night a week instead of four, then that’s also my choice and I don’t want to be /gkicked for it.

Here’s where the misconception begins.

Since they don’t dictate to me how or when to play, then I don’t get to dictate to them if or when I get to play. That’s right IF and I’m not talking Ironforge!!! If I don’t perform, regardless of whether it’s due to spec, gems, enchants, buffs, repairs, afks, or a complete lack of understanding what the hell I’m doing, then I shouldn’t expect to be invited to raids.

I once heard that “hardcore” is defined as anyone that plays more than you. Maybe this is true, maybe it’s not. I’ve never thought coming prepared to a raid with everything you need, not going afk, and knowing your toon was “hardcore”, but I’ve known my fair share of people that do. So I’m “hardcore” in that I expect people to know their toons, come prepared, and perform in whatever role/spec/gear they have.

I suppose the negative side of hardcore to me is anyone that takes this game way too seriously. These are the guys that can’t help but cuss people out on vent for mistakes. That’s not an environment I want to be in and one of smaller reasons I ended up leaving my old guild. It was a path they were headed down and one that many are OK with, but I’m not.

I wrote about respect once. It goes both ways. As a raider you have to respect others by being prepared and knowing your role. As a leader you have to respect those you’re leading by knowing when and how to call someone out for a mistake and knowing when to let it slide. Believe it or not you can call someone out for a mistake without yelling and cussing them out in front of 23 other people.

There’s No Reason Not To Come Prepared

“I forgot.”
“I don’t have time to farm.”
“I just logged in.”
“I’m broke.”

These are all excuses and not reasons. If you have to use that excuse, then quit being a burden on others and stop raiding.

5 Responses

  1. In my opinion, you can divide hardcore and casual as following.

    A casual have not to be a guy who plays not much. I know, to determine what means ” much ” is really difficult and depends on many factors like work and age and so on.
    The casual is happy to play his toon, to level, to get better equipment and may be raid a little bit for fun.

    A hardcore player, as i admit, do the same, but with a different approach. He wants to understand the system. The wants to know how the mechanics work.

  2. My problem is with the people who take casual as “I don’t have to try hard or pay attention.”

    I don’t CARE if you only make one raid a week. I CARE if you cause wipes by being dumb when you are there.

    Semi-Casual seems to be my favorite label for us so far. It’s hard to find a good one.

  3. The biggest difference between a casual raiding guild and a hardcore raiding guild is amount of time the guild raids, from what I can tell; I am an officer of a “casual-core” raiding guild myself.

    Raid is a group activity that requires most (sometimes all) the members in the raid to pull their own weight. Like any team sport, a raid is only as strong as its weakest link. Weak/ill-prepared tanks and healers are easy to spot, and lowish DPSers can’t hide from WWS reports.

    A “casual” guild can raid 2, maybe 3 nights a week at the most, but that doesn’t mean people can show up ill-prepared or doesn’t know how to maximize their contribution to the raid. Officers/Raid leaders should not be afraid to speak and call out under-performers, especially if you want to maintain at least some trace of content progression.

    Granted, at times it’s difficult to avoid people who just want to get carried or doesn’t put forth the effort to be good at their classes when you are trying to fill raids. Compromises are hard to avoid.

    It’s harder to run a casual than a hardcore raiding guild, IMHO.

  4. Bravo! This was an excellent post – summed up much better than I ever have what the difference is. Casual doesn’t mean nonchalant.

  5. @ Talarion – Very well said. I especially like your definition of a hardcore player.

    @ Amber – Semi-casual is a good term too. That said, I think I was part of the wipe last night on Malygos. Remember X-Perl? Yeah, I was looking at my health… DOH!!! I think I need you to help me fix it.

    @ Red – “It’s harder to run a casual than a hardcore raiding guild.” I never thought about that, but you’re probably right. A “hardcore” guild just removes their problems from the guild whereas a “casual” guild would or has to put up with them.

    @ Strumpet – Nonchalant. I like that. 🙂

Comments are closed.

