• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Is The Grass Greener?; and A Non-WoW Farewell

I don’t like doing multiple posts the same day because I’m deprived an opportunity of a post for tomorrow, but this one can’t wait for two reasons. Let’s get the WoW related stuff out of the way first.

Is The Grass Greener?

green_grassSome of you may be wondering how I’ve been doing since the change over to a new server and a new guild with a TOTAL lack of repsponsibility and based on what happened last night I think I owe you an update after all my belly-aching.

So is the grass greener over here? Based on last night, yes.

I haven’t been really active in this guild yet. I had been to two of their raids before last night. I went to their first 25-man Naxx raid last week, but was unable to continue on Monday due to personal issues. Last night we went back in and for the first time in a long time, I had fun.

Last night saw the introduction of the new DKP system for 25-man raids (something I’ve never wanted to see or do), some raid drama, and 2.5 hour raid that was late in getting started yet we still downed 2 quarters and Patch.

Brotherhood of Oblivion’s DKP System

I tried DKP once. It was a disaster. I won’t go into the details of why, but I think I know why. My guild’s system may or may not be unique, but I haven’t read about one that’s quite like this.

First, everyone started out with 100 DKP which is a one time thing. You gained an extra 50 DKP for each of the two raids you attended last week, also a one time thing. So I started out with 150 DKP. Each boss we down is worth 20 DKP and a first time kill is worth 30 DKP. If you were interested in an item you typed ‘1’ in chat. Those people would then whisper their bids to the Loot Master.

Going off of memory, Weapons/Shields are a minimum 50 DKP, Plate/Mail/Leather/Cloth are 25 DKP, Back items are 30 DKP, Trinkets 20 DKP, Tier Tokens are 50 DKP, and other items are 20 DKP. Don’t quote me! All bids must be in increments of 5 DKP to make math easy.

After the first round bid, the Loot Master announces the highest bid and asks for a second round. Anyone, including the highest bidder can bid again. That person wins it. The winner then loses his DKP, but the DKP is then split evenly among those that lost the bid. I lost a bid on Tier shoulders and gained 50 DKP when the winner bid 150 DKP and three of us lost the bid. There is a cap at 1000 DKP. Should everyone get to that point eventually we’ll just cut the DKP in half to keep it going. So far it looks like a system that will work. There’s more to it, but it’ll all get posted eventually.

Drama

dramallamaI’m wondering if it’s impossible to ever get 25 people into one room and not have drama?

Last night we had a druid leave vent, hearth to Dalaran, leave raid, and quit guild. What happened? Evidently she wanted to bid on a particular 1H weapon that dropped. She’s boomkin. It was a melee weapon. I don’t think she understood that and I expect she’ll be back in the guild when things are smoothed over, but who knows. From everything I’ve been told she’s a very nice lady, but isn’t always high on dps so may not be the most knowledgeable of players. If she really is that nice, I hope she comes back because I’m at a point where I’d rather raid with nice people that aren’t “the best” over jerks.

There’s also someone in our guild that gets more than his fair share of ribbing. It appears to be in good fun, but not knowing the history and from a outsider point of view, it gets pretty rude. Anyway, someone spoke up in his defense last night and asked for it to stop. There was a tense feeling in the air for a little bit after that.

Man I wish I took screenshots! I’m not a screenshot fanatic and rarely remember to do so. But there was one conversation that I can’t do justice. Amber had whispered me joking about how much fun the drama was and I responded that she had no idea how happy I was to no longer be an officer. She then told the raid that I was laughing because I no longer had to deal with all of this, which some of them may or may not have understood. 🙂

The Greener Grass

The best thing about it really is the lack of responsibility for anything other than myself. Minor drama was happening all around me and yet none of it affected me. I was happy to switch vanity pets, run around jumping like an idiot, and wait on loot distribution.  In <ICESTORM> someone quitting the guild would have upset me, loot complaints would have pushed me over the edge, and someone saying “$%^& YOU, AMBER!” in raid chat would have me on the /gkick button faster than you can say it.

Thing is, it isn’t my responsibility so it was water on a duck’s back. None of it affected me. For the first time in ages, I actually enjoyed going to a raid. My only disappointment was we downed Plague and Spider wings plus Patchwerk in 2.5 hours and only because loot took time to distribute. The best thing about this guild seems to be the lack of AFKs or at least unexplained AFKs. We still continued on without people and 23 and 24 manned some bosses. Once we are accustomed to the loot method, it’ll go much faster, which means we’ll probably get 3 wings down in 2.5 hours! 🙂

A Non-WoW Farewell

natasha_richardsonI hate to leave any post on a down note, but I felt this was important to leave for last. I want to pay my respects to one of my favorite actresses. Many of you probably already know about the passing of Natasha Richardson yesterday afternoon. I always liked her work, but after Parent Trap I absolutely fell in love with her! I have fond memories of the original (also was in love with Maureen O’Hara as a kid and told my wife yesterday I probably still am).

Natasha was a very accomplished actress and nothing I can say will do her justice. I wish her family all the best through this tough time and we’ll miss you Natasha!

12 Responses

  1. I was in the same position as you, I was an officer in the last 2 guilds I was in but I felt that there was so much stress from the drama. It doesn’t seem to help that I am a female and some of the officers have a touch of chauvinism to them along with not being as willing to take suggestions.

    I’m glad that you managed to find a guild that let you enjoy WoW again instead of having all the trouble you experienced make you quit WoW.

    OMG, I knew that Natasha Richardson got into an accident but I had no clue she died =( I feel awful for her family

  2. Well you have to figure that the core of this guild is a bunch of guys in their (early) 20s who know each other very well from work, so there’s a lot of joshing around you might not see from people who “only” know each other from teh intrawebs.

    We’re casual enough with eachother that someone saying “Fuck you, Amber!” to me just results in something like…oh…a Purple Diamond of Fail on their head. 😛 Besides, I usually said or did something to provoke that response!

    We pick on Hunt, a lot-hence the healer channel’s name!-but it’s an ongoing joke. I whispered him before I dared join in on it the way I have, to make sure he was okay with it. I’m not sure why THAT person of all people spoke up in his defense. It could be that the remarks are becoming more pointed-we’ve been good about AFKs lately, but Hunt has delayed the start of several things in the past few weeks with extensive AFKs and other things, so some of the officers are cranky in his general direction at the drop of a hat. It’ll tone down a bit, I think, as long as he behaves. We like him, he’s just…16 years old and sometimes obnoxious. 😉

    The DKP should run smoother as we get used to it, and the troublesome boomkin will probably not be a warm body in our 25s anymore.

    -I- was mostly amused, and pleased, by last night. ESPECIALLY Patchwerk. It went so much better!

  3. Last night must have been the night for druid drama! I had a resto /gquit on me in the middle of a raid (he wasn’t in it) because … well, he wasn’t in it! But, really, what do you expect when you sign up 20 minutes before the start of the raid and there are already 30 people ahead of you?

    I’m glad it’s going well for you. 🙂

  4. I clearly don’t understand the DKP system as described. It just seems that it leaves itself open to abuse. You should bid the absolute minimum on any item you have even a remote interest in because (1) you might just get it for a very low cost or (2) someone will outbid you and you get their DKP.

    Also, DKP points never get “spent”, they just keep floating back and forth between people outbidding one another. Shouldn’t take long before everyone has crazy pools of DKP.

    I know the point of the blog was “yay! I’m not a guild leader or responsible for any of the poo anymore!” It’s not your DKP system…I’m just curious.

  5. @ HP – Given how the face of gaming has changed over the last 20 years, I can’t believe that the mentality of “She’s a girl and can’t play” still exists.

    @ Amber – Whether you deserved the remark or not is none of my business. Also I’m still somewhat of an outsider in the guild. I talk to a couple of people that are on vent, but mostly I listen. Not yet comfortable enough to start voicing my opinion on anything important, like loot rules. And I think I’ll purposely keep it that way. 🙂

    @ Elleiras – Yeah druids are high maintenance. And thanks, I am enjoying myself!

    @ Sylthi – There was a conversation on vent that they’re going to adjust this system. One guy was really against it and doesn’t think we should even allow a second bid. Another guy just hates DKP. Personally, I don’t care what system we use as long as, like you said, I don’t have to deal with “the poo” anymore. 🙂

  6. I think your current loot system is way too complicated.
    Time spent sorting out loot is time wasted. I much prefer a system where loot is distributed as quickly as possible, without umming and ahhhing and rounds of bids.
    I also think the more time spent on the loot, the more likely you are to get loot drama. Best thing to do is get it over and done with asap, and move on.

    But then that is me.

  7. you’ll be missed huge Ky. Ciao bro. Canadian

  8. @ Vlad – Complicated or not it isn’t up to me and that was sort of the point of the post. It isn’t the system I would have chosen, nor was it with ICESTORM.

    I was about to say no loot system is perfect, but I think most are. The real point is that no loot system will make everyone happy. Because loot is limited and random, what rewards one is often viewed as a loss to another.

    Personally I believe in what helps another helps me. (Given that they don’t /gquit.)

    @ Aidall – Thanks man. I do miss you guys over there, but I am happier where I’m at now because I can enjoy the game again.

  9. Hi m8, what a coincidence we just implemented DKP’s last week, similar to your system getting the points (just we get fewer, aroud 40 for a 2hr raid) but way different in the loot where first in table decides whether or not he wants the loot.

    Here is the loot table-cost:

    I’m 100% sure you won’t share this info with the officers, only to keep on background and enjoy the game but maybe Ambro will… 🙂

    Keep it up!

  10. @ Hashishin – I’ll let her know, but yeah I will wash my hands of it and let them make the decision. 🙂

  11. […] Posted on April 7, 2009 by kyrilean  There were a lot of comments regarding my guild’s DKP system a couple of weeks ago. So I thought a follow-up was in order. But first my thoughts on […]

  12. OMG loved reading this article. I submitted your feed to my reader.

Comments are closed.

