• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Honest Scrap Award

I was tagged for the Honest Scrap Award by HP.

honest_scrap1

“This award is bestowed upon a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant.”

Well, thank you! 🙂

The rules for accepting this award are as follows:

  • When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real.
  • Choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have seven friends. Show the seven random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon.
  • List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on!

Brag? Mmkay, I’m done. Linked HP above.

So, ten honest things about myself:

  • Birthdays in March are plentiful in my family. I share a birthday with my 2nd child. I’m 35 years old and he’s 2 years old…today. My oldest turned 6 years old two days ago. My brother-in-law had his birthday yesterday. I have a cousin I will not speak to again, if I can help it, who’s birthday was two weeks ago today.
  • For being 35 years old I sure am on a lot of medication! Word of advice, eat healthy and excercise now because you’ll pay for it later. I’m not fat, but I am overweight and the cholesterol and fitness levels are really bad!
  • I’m very opinionated, but unless I’m in a comfortable setting I will keep that opinion to myself.
  • I have always loved fantasy and sci-fi. I was introduced to fantasy worlds with AD&D 2nd Edition and was an avid reader of many of the Dragonlance and Forgotten Realms books. Although I don’t read as much as I once did (or play tabletop role-playing games for that matter), I am a huge fan of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. I eagerly await the final chapter which is being finished up by Brandon Sanderson. (I really need to read books 10 and 11 though. As the series started to drag out I stopped reading and decided to wait until the series got closer to ending.)
  • I was born in what was then West Germany. My father was in the Army. I then lived in Georgia and Oklahoma until my father left the service. I don’t have memories of any of that. We then moved back to Idaho to live on my Grandfather’s farm. My first memories are of there. Ever seen Napoleon Dynamite? It was filmed primarily in Preston, ID. I grew up about 40-50 miles NE of there in a town of about 500 people. Later when my father went to school to become a professor between my 6th grade and 11th grade years, I lived in Oregon, Japan, Oregon (yup went back), Wisconsin, and Indiana. I then later moved to Germany (Herne, Bonn, Duesseldorf, Oberhausen, and Paderborn) for two years. I have since lived in Utah, Maryland, and finally Virginia. In total I’ve lived in 9 of the 50 states and three countries.
  • My father once told me that I would make a great alcholic. I have an addictive personality. Once I am interested in something, I often become somewhat obsessed with everything about it. Might explain this blog and my fascination with WoW.
  • Regarding this blog, I once hoped to actually focus in on paladin related topics, but as HP put it my blog is “hard to categorize…but random musings I suppose with a WoW theme”. So my blog is somewhat random. I write the experiences I have or whatever comes to mind. I do have my Pally Healing Guides and the Newbie Raider Guides which were inspired by guild members that didn’t know how to do either. Either way, I hope it entertains. 🙂
  • Although I spend a lot less time with WoW than I once did (wife disagrees in principle by the way), I have once again started spending time playing Call of Duty: World at War on my Xbox. I’m pretty good, but I seem to always get stuck on the bad team; which is supported by my almost always getting top score on my team, but losing constantly. This is the one game where I need a language filter placed over my mouth…:(
  • I love construction. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Construction Management and worked for Richmond American Homes and D.R. Horton in the past. After the residential market started to tank, I got out and now work for Balfour Beatty Construction on the commercial side of the industry.
  • In the past I was an extreme work-a-holic averaging 60 hours per week and sometimes topping out at 70 hours. Part of this was out of enjoyment of my job, but also in part out of loyalty to the companies I was working for. What I’ve learned since then is that when push comes to shove, the company doesn’t really care about you. If there’s blame to go around and you’re the next target, all the good you once did is quickly forgotten. What I learned from this experience was, “No amount of success in this life can compensate for failure in the home.” (And for some of you, you just learned an 11th thing about me, if you hadn’t already figured it out from above. :))

So now to tag 7 people…

In no particular order, I’m going to pick 7 random people with no real rhyme or reason, but consider yourselves all tagged. (Oh and I’m taking the lazy way out and linking to their latest post which hopefully they have ping- or trackbacks set up.)

Aesthetic
Can Tank Will Travel
WTF Spaghetti
World of Warcraft Wanderings
Fel Fire
Darraxus the Warrior
Purplz 4 My Warrior

And the rest of you!

6 Responses

  1. Age seems to be affecting me. While writing this up I had a hard time coming up with 10 things to say, but earlier today before I got busy I was going to mention that I’m a huge fan of Westerns and especially John Wayne…as if you couldn’t tell.

  2. Happy Birthday! To you and the little one. =D

    I’ll admit, I was a little skeptical about this meme when it first came out (seems a bit like viral advertising to me? not that that’s a bad thing..,), but it’s been really interesting to read everyone’s “10 things.”

    I’m a military brat, too, and a fan of Robert Jordan. I need to go back and reread the series before the last one comes out.

    I’ll try to get mine up today or tomorrow. (YAY! for a free Friday off!)

  3. Happy Birthday and thank you so much for the award and the tag! I’ll write something up tomorrow. I just got done healing heroic Oculus for the first time (twitch) and my brain is jelly.

  4. Happy B-Day Kyrilean!

  5. Thanks, everyone!

  6. Happy birthday to you and your sons!!! My son also has a march b-day… he turned 13 on the 20th…gads, dont I feel old now. Anyways talk to you later 🙂

Comments are closed.

