• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Patch 3.1: General & Paladin

Sorry for the wall of text, but I’m too busy to look for pics of people pulling their hair out. 🙂

OK, it’s official. Patch 3.1 is live! Actually, I’m really surprised. I really thought it’d be a couple of more weeks. Here are my comments on the items I was interested in or had comments about with regards to the General and Paladin changes. There’s just way too much to look at it all right now and it’ll give me a cheapo way to stretch posts. 🙂

The server of course was down forever last night and once I finally did get in I went right to dual specs for Ky. It took forever!!! I ended up with one point left over that was no good anywhere and finally put it somewhere I can’t even remember. Then I moved to Ret and well…

Before I logged I had enough time to get Maedchen dual specs and log. Didn’t even spend the time to respec. I woke up early this morning and set up my shadow spec though. Can anyone point me to a good source to research 3.1 Holy Priests? I’ve never healed on my priest and my guild has too many Disc priests right now anyway, so Holy seems to be the way to go. Besides, what I don’t know, I won’t miss. 🙂

General

  • Due to significant talent tree revisions, all players will have their talent points reimbursed. Several new spells and abilities have been added for select classes. Players will need to visit their class trainer to learn new spells. Can’t argue with free respecs! 🙂 Although I think I screwed up my Ret spec so I’ll be doing it over tonight. I thought this patch was supposed to introduce a way to confirm your choices before finalizing? If so, it didn’t work for me.
  • All Ground Mounts may now swim without dismounting the rider. Flying Mounts still may NOT, and will dismount the rider upon entering water. Not that I cared that much before, but OK.
  • The Argent Tournament, a permanent in-game event, has come to Icecrown. Players interested in taking part in this event should visit the Argent Pavilion located on the west side of the tournament grounds. Features include:
    • New ways of gaining reputation with capital cities.
    • All new daily quests, achievements and titles.
    • New rare and epic items, tabards, pets, banners, faction shirts and mounts.
    • Mounted combat, and much more to come! So more crap to distract us from the fact we don’t have that much new content? Meh. Not that I was too concerned at the so called “lack” of current content.
  • Players level 40 and higher will now be able to visit their trainer to pay a one-time fee and access the dual talent specialization feature. Suweeeeeeet!!! Now maybe my Holy Pally won’t be such a pansy while farming. (Probably not, but we can all dream.)
  • Applying a glyph no longer requires a Lexicon of Power. Not that it was a huge deal, but woohoo!!! The same rules for switching between dual talent specializations now apply to switching glyphs and cannot be performed while in combat, Battlegrounds (except when Preparation is up), or Arenas (no exceptions).

Classes: General

  • Haste Rating: shamans, paladins, druids, and death knights now receive 30% more melee haste from Haste Rating. Awesome!
  • Mana Regeneration: The amount of mana regeneration derived from intellect and spirit has been reduced by 40%; however, talents that allow for mana regeneration while in combat have been increased. As a result, in-combat regeneration for classes with those talents will stay the same, while out-of-combat regeneration will be lower. This doesn’t concern me too much, although I wonder if it means more drinking between pulls?

Paladins

  • Auras will now persist through death and affect a 40 yard radius. This will be great for those times we die during a boss fight. But I don’t die in boss fights. *cough*
  • Blessing of Kings is now trainable at level 20. Removed from talent trees. And to think I was going to get rid of this spell once and for all…
  • Divine Plea can once again be dispelled. OK now that just sucks! 😦
  • Exorcism: Now can be used on any target and has a 100% chance to be a critical strike when used on Undead and Demons. From a DPS standpoint this is pretty cool. From a role-playing standpoint… “Be gone foul gnome! I exorcise the demon within that obviously stunted your growth!”/facepalm
  • Hand of Sacrifice: The damage transferred by this ability is now capped by the paladin’s health. To be honest, I haven’t used this spell since Maiden in Kara. Either way, it’s still a nerf. 😦
  • Forbearance reduced to a 2-minute duration. 1 minute, 3 minutes, 2 minutes. Make up my mind please!
  • Sacred Shield: This effect cannot be cast on more than one friendly target at a time. You aggro loving bastages better watch yourselves from now on!
  • Seal of Blood/Seal of the Martyr: The damage done by these two seals has been increased but the damage done by their judgements decreased. The balance is now roughly 60% from either seal and 40% from a judgement on total damage done. The total damage done should be roughly the same. Please note that the 3.0.9 tooltips had incorrect values for the damage done, but the tooltips should be much more accurate in 3.1.0. Didn’t play Ret.
  • Shield of Righteousness: Base damage and scaling factor increased by 30%. Didn’t play Prot.
  • Spiritual Attunement: Removed from trainers. It is now available deep in the Protection tree for 2 ranks at 5/10%. This sucks because I had a habit of forgetting to heal myself and was often healed by a raid healer.
  • Talents
    • Holy
      • Aura Mastery: Now grants anyone affected by Concentration Aura immunity from Interrupt and Silence mechanics, and increases the effectiveness of all other auras by 100%. Lasts 10 seconds. 2-minute cooldown. So is this a spell or a proc? Everyone’s saying it’s a spell because it has a cooldown. FYI people, that’s not the definition of a spell. The trinkets from the Isle dailies had procs with cooldowns if I remember correctly. I didn’t have time to test this last night as I was busy just respecing, but I read it as a proc because it “grants anyone affected by”. Anyone know or had time to figure it out?
      • Blessed Hands: Now reduces mana cost of Hand of Freedom, Sacrifice and Salvation by 15/30%, and improves the effectiveness of Hand of Salvation by 50/100% and Hand of Sacrifice by an additional 5/10%. Moved to tier-4. Call me a bad pally, but I never use these. I really should at times, but I’m too busy concentrating on healing.
      • Enlightened Judgements: No longer increases the range of Judgement of Justice. Moved to tier-10. WHY?!!! WHY FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY?!!!
      • Improved Concentration Aura: The resistance to Silence and Interrupt mechanics granted by this talent now becomes active when any Aura is used, not just Concentration Aura.
      • Infusion of Light: Now increases the critical chance of your next Holy Light by 10/20% instead of reducing cast time. Moved to tier-10. NO, NO, NO, NO, NO, NO, NO!!!!!! I’m already at 35.4% unbuffed with Holy and add another 6% for Sanctified Light puts me at 41.4% for Holy Light. Add in raid buffs and I think I was over 45% the other night! The few second reduction was a godsend! I might be able to spam Holy Light now, but I think I’ve reached the diminishing returns on crit already. *mutters incoherently*
      • Judgements of the Pure moved to tier-9.  Ummm….OK? It’s something I’m not going to do without either way so…
      • Pure of Heart: Now reduces duration of all curse, disease, and poison effects by 15/30%.  Nerfed, but added poison…hmmm…oh wait, didn’t have it anyway.
      • Purifying Power: Now reduces the cooldowns of Exorcism and Holy Wrath by 17/33% instead of increasing critical strike chance. Didn’t have this, but it might work to a DPS advantage to have reduced cooldowns, because at least in my guild I spend 25% of my time in Naxx dpsing as holy. Seriously! Our healers that good! 🙂 (Or they’re just faster than this old fart.)
      • Sacred Cleansing moved to tier-8. And that’s not going to make me want to take it anymore than before.
    • Protection
      • New Talent: Divine Sacrifice: Causes all party/raid members affected by one of the paladin’s auras to transfer 30% of all damage taken to the paladin (maximum of 150% of the paladin’s max health). Lasts 10 seconds. 2-minute cooldown. Again, not a tank, but that sounds really cool!
      • New Talent: Divinity: Increases healing done by and to you by 1/2/3/4/5% (tier-1). Again, really cool! This would be great in JoL, but as Holy I don’t think I’ll take it. I didn’t take it as Ret last night either and now I’m thinking that was a huge mistake since Ret pallies use JoL anyway…
    • Retribution
      • Divine Storm: Damage increased. I leveled from 70 to 80 in Ret and I loved this spell so this is only a good thing.
      • Judgement of the Wise: The immediate return of base mana from this spell has been increased to 25%, up from 15%. Wow! Leveling from 70 to 80 I don’t remember ever having mana problems, although I was using Seal of Wisdom in conjunction with Judgement of Wisdom, so this would free up the Seal…
      • Improved Retribution Aura: This talent has been removed. That sucks!!!
      • Sanctified Retribution: The bonus to damage done granted by this talent now becomes active when any Aura is used, not just Retribution Aura. I suppose this is the answer to mitigate the nerf above?
      • Swift Retribution: Now grants its haste bonus while any aura is active. That’s a bonus!

 Overall impression regarding Paladins?  I was nerfed, but now that I have dual specs, I think it took the sting away.

6 Responses

  1. A note for your comment about talent checking – It *is* an option, but you have to turn it on in your interface options, then it enables it when you’re choosing talents. Very counter intuitive, but wonderful once you figure out how to turn it on. 🙂

  2. Last night I put all of my points back into Prot (where they belong!) and went & MT’ed Vault. I didnt really see much of a difference so that was nice. I’m so used to every patch learning the new “must have” spell and trying to put it into my rotation. Last night was a nice breath of fresh air for us Paladins. While everyone else was freaking out about their buffs & nerfs, I just casually walked into the instance and schooled it.

  3. go to interface—>display—-> Preview talent changes

  4. Aura Mastery is definitely a spell now that you click to activate.

  5. @ Katie & Eidlhe – That’s what I get for putting the toy together without reading the instructions. 🙂

    @ Fuubaar – I’m so scared at the thought of tanking. One of these days I’m just going to have to try it. I have more Prot gear than Ret.

    @ Celton – Thanks, just another item to remember to add to my bars when I get home. Didn’t have a chance to play at all last night.

  6. “Begone foul gnome” has a nice ring to it. I approve. 😉

Comments are closed.

