• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Random Tuesday

I was sick yesterday so wasn’t able to prepare a post for today so you get this fake post .

Car Break-Down (and the circle begins…)

My wife’s 1999 Ford Explorer broke down a couple of weeks ago. The transmission went out. A 10 year old SUV gas guzzler. Gas prices around $2/gallon. Over 140k miles. Approximately $3000 to rebuild transmission. We can’t get crap for it! 😦

She sold it “as is” for $600. I’m so proud! 🙂 We’ve been talking about having a third child sometime next year so we were planning on driving it into the ground and buying a mini-van. The Explorer just didn’t have the room for three car seats side-by-side. Unfortunately the ground hit sooner than expected.

We did trade my 2002 Toyota Solara in for a 2008 Chrysler Town-and-Country though. So we got a mini-van, with nice perks :), and got rid of my 2-door car that I didn’t like. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a fine car. Just what the hell were we thinking when we bought a 2-door car with a family?!

Anyway, point is that I bought a bicycle to ride to-and-from work. I only live 3.3 miles from the office according to Google Maps, so it shouldn’t be that big a deal, right? Wrong!!!

Confessions of a Fat Out-of-Shape Guy (Wait! Does round count?)

I’m 35 years old. I haven’t been on a bike since I was 21. They say you never forget how to ride a bike. I’m living proof that is true, but I’m proof that your mind and body will both forget how damn hard it is!!!

I grew up in the Rockies. Actually in the small town of Georgetown, ID. Go ahead check it out. When I say small, I mean small! I can’t believe they got someone to drive through and do the street views. Have you ever seen Napoleon Dynamite? That was filmed primarily in Preston, ID. When I was a kid going to Preston was kind of a big deal. It was a city!

Unfortunately, my grandfather passed away several years ago and my grandmother passed away right after Christmas, so I don’t know that I’ll ever get back there. If I could make a living I’d go back in a heartbeat! Farming isn’t too profitable, but I digress…

The Rockies are mountains. To me the Appalachians are just hills. I’ve been caught saying “just over the hill” and had someone correct me. So suffice it to say that living in the D.C. Metro area, there are no real hills. A 2% grade does not a hill make.

I made it about 2.5 miles to my work when I started to get light-headed. I pulled over and sat down for a couple of minutes on a nearby bench. It was still morning and the sun hadn’t been up more than an hour, but it was already starting to get hot. So rather than getting all the way to work, I decided to turn around and head home. At least I know I can make the distance.

Moral of the story: Biking kicked my ass! 😦 For the time being, my wife is going to drop me off at work with the bike and I’ll ride home until I’m in better shape. The first heat wave of spring and new approach to excercise left me feeling less than well that evening.

Noble Garden

I woke up really early the next morning and couldn’t sleep. I still wasn’t feeling well, but I was bored out of my mind so I logged in for a couple of hours until my body crashed and said “More sleep please!”.

I had been working on the Noble Garden achievements. However, 4am EST on a CST server leaves very few people to tag with bunny ears. Speaking of which I thought the achievements were somewhat amusing, that is until I read Kim’s thoughts on Noblegarden. One might argue that we shouldn’t take it as seriously, but I would hope you agree she has a very valid point. I find myself agreeing with her. That said, I’ll still do the achievements because I want the huge Meta-Achievement for the drake, but I’ll protest by not showing the title. (Sort of how I’ll never show “the Love Fool”. EVER!!!)

PvP

So after giving up on finding people online, I did dailies and eventually crashed. I logged in again later to take advantage of Arathi Basin holiday weekend! It’s amazing how often the Alliance wins during the day as compared to in the evenings or actual weekends. The kids must all be in school! 🙂

Not that I’m complaining, but why do weekends go from Thursday to Tuesday? Scratch that! More importantly why doesn’t my work weekend go that long?! 😦

Either way, I got to test out my new toy in battlegrounds.

Belkin n52te (…closing the circle)

After reading WoW Insider’s Encrypted Text: Tips for key binding your Rogue abilities I was really curious about the Belkin n52te. I asked about it on Twitter and Ken (Cheesus_) recommended it. So since my wife had $100 left from the sale of the car and she was feeling guilty since she spent some on an mp3 player device (not I-Pod), I got my Belkin n52te. I plan on posting my experience with it, but I haven’t gotten a chance to raid with it yet. I was sick yesterday and planned on going, but I feel asleep before raid time. 😦

Overall my  experience is positive. If there’s anything you want to know about it please ask. I hope to have a decent enough review for a post after my Wednesday raid.

Speaking of Twitter… (the tangent to the circle)

I’m 35 years old. I don’t think I’m ever going to get used to it. I log in once in a while when I have time. I get that it isn’t exactly a chat program, but it seems that’s what I keep trying to use it for. I like chatting online to friends. It fills up those long days where I have no deadlines. Twitter seems to be more for placing random thoughts and that’s great. It serves it’s purpose. But I can’t keep a thought long enou…ooh a penny!

2 Responses

  1. I too, was proudly gathering the “Noble” achievments. Until Kim pointed out the error of our manly, oppressive ways. Women are too sensible.
    I’m interested to see how the Belkin works. I’ve been think of getting extra controllers but am afraid of wasting my $$$ on gadgets. (Money is tight for us as well.)

  2. My daughter uses the Belkin (MMOs/FPS)and loves it. I’m left handed so, (keybind to numpad and right side of keyboard) and wasn’t sure I’d like it or not. We did try a different brand that was usable by both hands but neither of us like it.

    BTW – I hope you’re not passing bad car karma – I have one that I want to use another year before replacing – lol!

    As for Twitter. I think its fun, but its definitely mini bites of info and some people post really inane stuff!

Comments are closed.

