• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

My AH Experiment

It took a few days to set up, but I’ve finally got my experiment ready and in full swing.

For a long time now I’ve wanted to make a lot of gold in WoW just because. The problem is that any time I reach about 5,000 gold my desire to continue farming and questing dies. I’m the kind of player that thinks he’s broke with less than 5,000 gold, but is perfectly content once I’ve hit it.  All I’m really interested in is gold for repairs, mats, enchants, gems, etc. for raiding. Anything beyond that is just a bonus and one more reason why I don’t have to farm.

For about a month now I’ve been wanting to craft a Mekgineer’s Chopper ever since Erdkrieg leveled Engineering high enough for that to be realistic more than being a pipe dream. The thing is I don’t necessarily want one for myself…yet. I want to sell them. Given the cost of the Titansteel, etc. I figured they must be worth something. Little did I know how much they cost to produce!!! But I started checking the AH to get a feel for how much I could sell one for. Problem was, there weren’t any. That got me thinking perhaps there’s a market for it on my server, simply because there’s no competition.

The thing I didn’t realize was the requirements to buy the mats and how expensive they are. So in order for me to ever get one I’ve got a lot of work to do on Erdkrieg to purchase the Schematic, but that shouldn’t take too long. Didn’t realize I needed to be exalted with Alliance Vanguard, but I’m already Revered so it shouldn’t be too bad. The mats are a killer though. It basically boils down to 12,500 gold in mats that you cannot farm, but must be purchased by an Engineer. Currently I’m sitting at around 4k. Well that idea’s a bust! Or is it?

How can I make some gold quick. I did the Saronite Ore farming thing once before and although that does well, the market has dropped quite a bit and it took me about a month to farm enough to purchase my Traveler’s Tundra Mammoth. I’d rather not wait quite that long this time. So I did some research and it appears that of my professions with Enchanting, Mining, Engineering, Tailoring, Inscription, Jewelcrafting, Alchemy, and Herbology my best bet for playing the AH was with Inscription. Thankfully Kyr, my DK, is level 65. So I purchased several bags and mats for milling and now have an Inscription setup. So far gold is trickling in even on my first day and I’m hopeful that I can turn this into a profitable business.

The point of my experiment isn’t necessarily to see if I can become filthy rich, but rather to see if an average player such as myself can play the AH. We all know Gevlon’s got it figured out, but for whatever reason I haven’t been able to motivate myself to do so. I intend to give weekly updates on what seems to be working, what I’m learning, and then compare it to my dailies and farming method of earning gold. I’ve been doing a lot of research from supposed experts, but let’s see if their knowledge really works for the average Joe.

I spent roughly 500 gold in getting my setup, but again I already had several inks just from leveling and farming.  Here’s a screenshot of what Kyr has goldwise right now. I won’t transfer any gold to or from him while doing this experiment. If I get in a bind, I’ll wait until week’s end screenshot what he earned, screenshot after I transfer gold, and keep a forward going tally, but I’d rather not if I can get away with it.

Kyr's Backpack

Wish me luck! 😀

9 Responses

  1. I’ve wondered what the cost at auction would be also, I’ve never seen one for sale on my server.

    I’m pretty certain it’s the craftable with the most significant time involved for farming and rep – as well as initial investment… Putting a value on all that effort will be interesting!

  2. The ‘Average Joe’ can absolutely play the AH game and succeed. It is an easy endeavor. Easier, at least, than hardcore raiding or PVP, but it does require an equal amount of attention and/or study. Just like in RL, lazy will get you nothing but the bare minimum. However, educating yourself in your approach to trading can pay off in a big way.

    Best of luck in your experiment.

  3. I think it is a really bad idea to put up a motorcycle on the AH. The auction fees alone will absolutely kill you. Ignoring the costs of the farmable mats, you’ll have to put it up for more than 600 gold over its cost just to break even on auction house fees. At this stage, I think most people would rather save 600 gold and find an engineer and give them a tip.

    If you really want to try to make money off motorcycles, I’d try to sell it in /trade. You could even sit by the merchant who sells the expensive parts and not buy them until the person hands you the money, which will avoid the need for so much money of your own before you can do anything.

  4. @Argon – Hadn’t taken into consideration AH fees. Don’t have one yet to have checked that out. That said if it is indeed 600 gold, there’s a good chance I’ll only do it in trade. And again, there might not really be a market for them. Lots of people want them, but the price puts the demand low.

  5. With access to that many professions, especially Inscription, you should have absolutely no issues making enough gold to make a chopper. If it doesn’t sell after a few weeks, well, you have yourself one sweet ride. I wish they would change it back so that vehicles don’t take fall damage. Riding out of the Dalaran sewers on my bike was one of my favorite things to do.

    There are a lot of really good gold making advice sites out there. Take the time to read a few and get some ideas of what to craft and how to sell. Once you figure out what works on your server, you’ll never have to farm again.

  6. I’ve been trying to play the AH too, but with limited success. Am I makign gold, yes. Alas not very fast, because I think the Server I am, and SIde..not that good.

  7. Good luck!

    I can’t wait to read about what you learn. Before we started pushing into Ulduar, I was making a good amount of money on the AH.

    I’ve slacked lately due to researching strats and leveling my Mage. Only so many hours in the day.

  8. Im making a bunch on the AH selling glyphs since I got more serious about it. I just buy herbs when they are cheap, make glyphs with the ink (trading ink of the sea for whatever I need) and selling the snowfall ink on the AH. Since last weekend I have made around 4k total. You just have to be persistent, put a lot of glyphs up, know what sells, and undercut like a son of a bitch.

  9. […] much responsibility and so I started finding a lot of free time on my hands. This inevitably led to my experiment which was refined over the next few […]

Comments are closed.

