• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Rest In Peace

This past week has seen a wave of celebrity deaths. Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett, and finally Michael Jackson.

I’m a child of the 70’s. I barely remember Farrah from Charlie’s Angels, but it was a show I remember watching. I grew up with Ed McMahon watching Star Search, TV’s Bloopers & Practical Jokes, the Publisher’s Clearing House Sweepstakes commercials, and of course everyone’s favorite The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson.

I wouldn’t say that I’m a fan of Farrah Fawcett having barely remembered her as a kid. But as I said Charlie’s Angels was a show I watched and I always remembered.

I was however most definitely a fan of Ed McMahon’s because I watched all three of those shows almost religiously especially The Tonight Show. Johnny Carson will always be the King of Late Night and Ed McMahon will always be his sidekick. 🙂

I was also a fan of Michael Jackson albeit not a huge one. Say whatever you want about him, but he was a music legend. He was talented beyond beliefe. I won’t deny that Michael was odd and constantly surrounded by controversy, but it still pisses me off when people in trade chat say all sorts of derogatory things, make jokes, and generally put down all three of these artists, Michael Jackson obviously being the biggest target.

Dear Lord people! These were people too! They’re someone’s child, someone’s parent, and someone’s loved one. So take a minute and think about how you’d feel if you were one of their loved ones being left behind. Show some respect and at least make an attempt to restore my faith in humankind.

Rest in peace. All of you deserve it more than you know.

5 Responses

  1. Signed.

  2. Not going to watch the vids because I’ll end up sobbing at work! (seriously…all 3 deaths hit me hard)

    Because of the jokes, I left trade chat last night, an event usually reserved for Christmas and Easter. Spent the rest of the night on cruise control searching for summer flames to honor and desecrate.

  3. /agree

  4. I *DO* remember Farrah & Charlie’s Angels (I had that Farrah poster) I’m also upset by David Carridine’s death. Yesterday was a rough day for me.

    That said, it’s difficult separate the talented person of MJ, from the less than ideal personal life we’ve seen plastered across the media for the last 15-20 years. It’s still the same person. I can appreciate what he did for music, race and pop culture, but I am still very much aware of many of his “alleged activities”.

    As for the trade channels, well, they’re already like the 4chan of Warcraft. All the lowlives live there and spout nasty, crude stuff 24/7 already. MJ just offers more ammo for the puke cannon. /ignore rules the day.

  5. I watched MJ’s concert clips last night and no one can grace the stage like he did. He was a total performer. I hope someone from these times would rise up and have the makings of another legend. I join you Ky in saying RIP to the biggest pop icon of our time. Yesterday was a sad day.

Comments are closed.

