• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Independence Day

american_flag_588

July 4th. Independence Day. I love this holiday. It’s bittersweet though.

My grandfather fought in World War II. He loved his country. He never talked about the war. My grandmother told us that he would sometimes wake up at night in a cold sweat. The only time he ever opened up to me about it was right before I moved to Germany. He told me the German people are a great people. He and his fellow soldiers were taught to hate the Germans in the war, but many of them could not.

The Germans they encountered were people beat down by the war. They were starving and penniless. The soldiers were commanded not to give their rations to the German civilians because of the need to keep up their own strength, but my grandfather along with others often gave what they could.

My grandfather was a great man. He died most appropriately on July 4th, 2001. I miss him.

So like my grandfather I’m a patriot of this great country. I don’t always agree with the direction she’s sometimes gone, but I support the ideals and freedoms she stands for. I love my country and this holiday is just a great way to remind myself of that.

I think all people should love whatever country they are citizens of. That doesn’t mean they should always be proud of what they do, but I believe a country is something to be proud of, something we should care for, something we can believe in. Even citizens of oppressed countries should be proud of their country, heritage, and where they come from. And hopefully they are proud enough to try and change things for the better in whatever manner they can. Even Americans. We certainly have enough to be embarrassed about as well as proud of.

I love my country. In fact, I love three countries.

german-flag

I was born in Germany. My father was in the U.S. Army at the time. I was born with dual-citizenship. I returned and lived in Germany (mostly in the Rhein Valley) from ’94-’96. I sorely miss it and hopefully will get back to visit some day.

japan-flag

My mother was born and raised in Hiroshima, Japan. She moved to the States to attend college and eventually met my father. I lived in Japan from ’87-’88. I miss it there as well.

Be proud of who you are and Happy Independence Day! Love you, grandpa.

[Edit: After thinking about Deutschland, I started looking for mid 90s German bands and remembered “Die Prinzen” (The Princes) and found this video. 🙂 Basically a semi-patriotic, albeit humorous, song about living and dying in Germany.]

And how could I not link our national anthem.

2 Responses

  1. Happy 4th July kyrilean 😉

    As german its somethimes hard to understand how a country can make such a huge amount to celebrate only one day.
    In germany, its total different. As you we have a national day, called” Der Tag der Deutschen Einheit” Its on 3. Oktober.
    But as german its difficult to develope something like an national pride.
    I see somethin like national pride as the soccer world cup was in germany. I never see something like that before. It was a totaly new . I dont know if the people around me experienced the same.

  2. Hey Talarion! Americans find it very easy to have national pride. It’s built into our upbringing, education, movies, entertainment, etc. I don’t think we understand other cultures that don’t have national pride and interpret that as everyone’s jealous of us which in turn means “America is better”.

    Although I’ll always believe America is the best place in the world that’s just one opinion. I think Germans should think Germany is the best place in the world. I love that country! You have so much to be proud of.

    Damn! I have got to figure out a way to go back and visit!!! I was only primarily in Ruhrgebiet (Herne, Oberhausen, Duesseldorf, etc.), but I did get to live in Bonn and Paderborn too! Paderborn is beautiful! And I really want to get to Berlin and down south.

Comments are closed.

