• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

War-mart: Spend Money, Live Better

I wasn’t going to comment on this because everybody and their dead ancestors already have (Merlot has a great one btw), but unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past few days you are well aware that Blizzard now has two new pets for offer for the small sum of $10 each.

As we’ve seen it’s caused quite a stir as predictions of doom and gloom abound. Blizzard has gone the way of the microtransaction. Soon we’ll all be able to buy gear with real money instead of having to farm away in-game. No more grinding Naxx, Ulduar, and ToC for those shiny purples! No more farming heroics to buy emblem gear! Just whip out your credit card and deck out your new level 80 for raiding Icecrown in 5 minutes!

Bullshit.

The game, like any other, revolves around progression. You create a character, you log in, and you begin progressing.

Oooh! I’m level 2! I got a new ability! What’s it do?

Awesome! I’m level 40, I can start wearing plate!

Only 5 more pets and I get my achievement!

I know that spirit beast is here somewhere. If he’d just spawn…

<pant, pant>…Only 5 more laps around Dalaran…<pant>…I will fit into those jeans again, I swear it!!!

Whatever you’re after, whatever you’re doing, you are attempting to progress in something. Otherwise what’s the point of playing?

So my prediction is that yes, we will see Blizzard introduce more microtransaction items into the game; pets, mounts, and other vanity items will be all up for grabs. Just like race changes, faction changes, and server transfers these little transactions will have absolutely no effect on gameplay. We will NOT see items for sale that have an impact on PvE or PvP gameplay.

Have you ever played a game and used an invincibility cheat or an unlimited ammo cheat with an extremely powerful weapon? What happens? Oh sure, it’s a ton of fun initially being able to beat all those hard areas that you couldn’t before, but do that for a few minutes, a few hours, or possibly even a few days and the game becomes boring. There’s no challenge. So what’s the point?

If I’m wrong, then this game will become so pointless that this paladin will sadly hang up his mace.

4 Responses

  1. Really boys and girls its not the end of the world 🙂

    I bought both pets the min I got home… why?! You ask, because I love to collect them and there is always a pet with me unless its pvp. There fun and I like the look of them, 79 pets wha?

    Its probably a good thing not a lot of ppl were on vent with me… I was giggling in glee and /bowing a lot 🙂 They are sooooooo cute!

    Its like Pokémon (which I never played) gotta catch em all!

  2. If even Blizzard does start selling in-game stuff for real money, it still won’t kill WoW.

  3. @Kiramaren – I really want them too, but when I showed one to my wife that a guildie had she nearly smacked me when she thought I was the one that bought it! 🙂

    @Ephemeron – It may not kill the game, but I think changing the model like that will definitely attract a different type of player just as it will repel a player like me.

  4. Funny…I thought being able to buy T9 gear for Emblems was going to lead to the downfall of WoW. I guess since that didn’t happen we have to blame the onset of microtransactions.

    More than likely Blizzard took notice of how well certain Loot cards from the WoW TCG sell on ebay and decided there might be some revenue to be made for themselves as well.

    I also doubt that we’ll see any items for purchase that have a direct effect on gameplay but speaking from a strictly PvE perspective this game is not about players competing with one another but rather cooperating toward common goals. How another player acquires their gear has no effect on my enjoyment of the game.

Comments are closed.

