• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Belated Anniversary

No, not that one thank the light! I have a few more months until that one…the big 10! No the one I’m talking about is Wrath.

Wrath released November 13th, 2009. It’s been a year!

wotlk_logo

Actually, you ever have that feeling where you can’t believe it’s been that long and at the same time you can’t believe IT’S ONLY BEEN THAT LONG?! Yes, Wrath has been wonderful and with some respects it feels like it’s gone really fast. In other respects it feels like I’ve died and gone to hell only to suffer for all eternity!

OK, it’s not quite that bad, but it has been an eventful year. So I’m thinking a recap is in order.

November 2008

Started leveling Kyrilean through Northrend. Within two weeks I was 80. Sure wasn’t the fastest in the guild or on my server, but then again I had real life duties to attend to like work and family. Damn real life!

The two things I remember the most vividly about those intial experiences were questing and the new dungeons. The quests were varied and amazing! Drops were more prevalent than they had been in BC and definitely better when compared to Vanilla. No more grind fests!!! 🙂 And the dungeons were…easy. I remember running Azjol-Nerub the first time. It was the first dungeon I’d run and my friends were bugging me to come heal it. I really wanted to keep questing and wasn’t looking forward to a 2 hour grindfest at the moment, but I went anyway…and we were done in less than 30 minutes!!!

All I can remember is thinking, “That’s it?!” To this day I’m disappointed in the 5-man dungeons. Sure they were at least a little challenging at first, but we didn’t have to utilize any strategy like CC!!! It was run in, faceroll your keys, and unless you were really bad the bosses died. They were definitely an improvement on the 3-hour slugfests that were a lot of BC runs (man I hate Shadow Labs*), but less than 30 minutes?! Hell, even Ramparts took the better part of an hour until you geared well beyond it.

December 2008 to March 2009

Naxxramas and the gear grind. Gear plans. Class study. I even posted my series of Holy Paladin guides, which are way outdated btw. This was also unfortunately the start of the end for me.

With a few exceptions, leveling guilds level at different levels. It’s inevitable. Everyone spends a different amount of time on questing, instancing, and afking. I for one spent every second reading every letter of quest text. I’d just spent a nice chunk of change on this expansion and was going to get my entertainment’s worth. Others I knew flew so fast past the quest text that when others asked questions about quests, they had no idea what you were talking about.

Because everyone hit 80 at a different time, that’s when the drama started. Although my memory is probably somewhat fuzzy and more than likely jaded to an extent, I put all the drama squarely on the shoulders of three groups of people.

Group 1 – An officer tank and a pvp’ing, flirtatious mage that had said officer tank wrapped around her little finger.

The mage had joined our guild due to her friendship with the tank. Due to some luck she geared up quickly in Zul’Aman and mysteriously was unavailable for raids after that, although she spent 5-6 hours each evening in battlegrounds. She and the tank were also the first to hit 80 and grinded out heroics while everyone was still finishing leveling. They then became unavailable to assist others in the heroic grind, going so far as to play alts on another server or at least the other faction in an effort to avoid us according to rumor, but crawled out of the woodwork as soon as we were ready for Naxx.

The tank thought he was Blizzard’s gift to Arathor-US. He thought he was the best tank out there and ten times better than our current main tank Zeza, who I’d venture to say is probably still the best tank I’ve ever met. I’d even heard him say he was better than Zeza and was upset about the whole thing. Ask the healers and we all said he was a good tank, but he was not as good at grabbing loose mobs, nor was he as good at avoidance. The guy took spiky damage at the weirdest times and would get two shotted more times than I care to remember.

After a huge blow up with a drunk GM, things were said and they quit the guild to start their own raiding guild telling us off and that they would do much better. I don’t think they ever recruited ten members. 🙂

Group 2 – Wife/husband combo.

I recruited this group. They’re good people. Even today I think they’re probably good people. But drama followed those two like flies after a manure spreader!!! I remember the wife bitching and moaning about loot given to lesser geared people when rolls were won by her or her husband. We had a loot council system back then. You rolled if you were interested. Loot council made the decisions at that point.

They were good players. It only made it more frustrating that we needed and wanted their heals; one was a druid, the other a shaman. So enter pressure. We needed them. We wanted them. It’s my own damn fault for letting them get to a point where they could dictate to an extent how things were run because I was so afraid that we’d lose them.

Group 3 – All the little whiny ass, snot-nosed kids that felt entitled.

I hit 80 first, I deserve to go to Naxx. I shouldn’t have to run with the “B-group”. I needed that item more than the guy that won it. I shouldn’t need to gem and enchant my gear until I have all purples. I don’t need to bring food buffs, someone’s got fish feasts. I don’t have time for dailies and can’t afford flasks.

But you sure as hell feel entitled to anything and everything the guild officers are working so hard to give everyone, don’tcha?!

March 2009

I wanted to raid, but didn’t feel like raiding with any other guild on that server. I wanted to raid with my friends, but the drama and self-imposed responsibility of trying to keep everyone happy finally broke me. I didn’t want to raid with any other guild on that server. I still wanted to raid, but knew I’d run a /who search every night to see what they were doing and that wasn’t something I could live with. I knew I’d go running back to them eventually and I couldn’t do that. Why?

I never admitted this to my friends, but a year has passed and perhaps it’s time to admit it. I couldn’t raid with them because of Group 2. I was so sick and tired of the drama those two caused that I was done. They had gotten so bad that I almost canceled my account. I was quitting a game over two people I had never even met! How fucked up is that?! But on the other hand, I couldn’t give my guild an ultimatum. It wasn’t right for me to say “Me or them.” So I left the server to prevent myself from going back to the guild and living in misery. I was too addicted to quit.

So it was with a lot of thought and heavy heart, I made the decision to switch servers.

March 2009 to present

Naxx25 runs with my new guild were a lot of fun. They were almost always full guild runs and we flew through them relatively easily, but not easy enough to make it boring. When Ulduar finally hit, raiding went to hell. Granted we lost people to summer, but even still it was worse than expected. Ulduar was tough the first few weeks and people disappeared when the content got too hard, but they came back with a vengeance for ToC…

In the offtime, I had spent a lot of time gearing up other toons, going after achievements, and just learning to play the game around things other than raiding. I also learned how to play the AH and brought in over 200,000 gold in less than four months. Granted I spent 150,000 of it on mats and other items. My guess is that 110,000 of it was mats and the other 40,000 was for “loans” and craftable gear for me and friends.

But that got boring too and after having leveled all four healing classes and a DK, I continued on with the other five classes leveling 5 levels at a time before switching. What this means is that I can play all classes, but know nothing and suck at all of them too! 🙂

What’s Next?

Well, as much as I’d like to get into heroic ToC (and damn it I really do) I’m concerned with the next step. If it’s too easy, I may just quit raiding altogether. If it’s too hard, I’m afraid others might. On top of this you have the holidays and all the joys it brings!

Real life events will interfere to a certain extent making raiding a little harder. In some cases, it might get easier. Add to that the holiday releases of new games and who knows what will happen? I know I for one will be on less when I finally buy CoD: MW2 tomorrow. And the wife is getting me Assassin’s Creed 2 for Christmas so…yeah. 🙂 But it’s kind of scary when I log on and I’m the only officer around. It’s not that the others have disappeared from the game permanently, but when the officers** don’t make regular appearances I begin to wonder what members think. I know I’d be concerned.

So I think 3.3 can’t come soon enough. My guild needs it.

*LOL, I only have to run it about 5 more times to hit Exalted with Lower City! Soloing it is kind of fun! 🙂
**Actually one of them just RPs a lot on another server and needs to come back and entertain me on Vent if nothing else!!! Hell, Amber’s GM now and should be on Vent to entertain me too! And I’m too poor to transfer 10 toons to another server!!!

8 Responses

  1. =X I don’t think I’m quite geared enough yet for heroic mode, but I would love to try. I dislike the idea of having a raid on farm. If it’s not challenging, what’s the reason for doing it? I suppose gear and stuff, but that’s a ridiculous reason to raid imo.

  2. I’d like to see us step into a 10 man ToGC sometime soon, just to see if we can. With a good composition, we blow right through the regular mode, so heroic could be a good challenge.

    There’s definitely hardly ever an officer on during the day! It’s usually just me and MissB while everyone else is at work. 😛

  3. Heroic ToC 10 man is fun. It is hard, but as long as everyone works together it is pretty simple.

    Now…Faction Champs on heroic mode….

  4. @ thedoctor SHHH!!!! >_> We don’t need this to devolve into the squishies realizing and breaking into tears. (<—is squishy)

  5. Nice look back at memory lane 🙂

    “The guy took spiky damage at the weirdest times and would get two shotted more times than I care to remember.” – This was not a problem with his avoidance. It was because he was tanking Naxx with only 535 defense. Then again since he was God gift to warrior tanks the normal rules of the game did not apply to him. He was Canadian what do you expect..lol.

    The only reason Zeza is a good tank is because bosses hesitate to hit a small little girl. Just kidding. The Gnome is one of the best warrior tanks I know. Unfortunately he switch to the dark side and plays mostly his shadow priest now. Not a bad thing since I keep bashing his shadow face every time he challenges me to a duel :).

    As for 3.3 I’m not too sure I wanted to come out too fast. Ice Crown will probably be in farm mode withing a month or two. And if the next expansion comes out next November it will mean a lot of time with not much to do.

  6. Hi Ky

    I knew things were rough on you back then and you weren’t alone. Those times took a hard toll on a few people which was very unfortunate including myself shortly after you left 😦

    I sure am glad those days are over in one sense but in another I miss some of the friends I used to raid with.

    I can’t speak for others but I totally understand why you left and respect you no less for it. If your not having fun whats the point 🙂

    About your raiding I can assure you from experience that GC won’t disappoint you if you want a challenge. I mean it’s not hard in one sense but it’s very hard in another that your entire raid has to work together and know their class. GC is certainly not the place you can carry even one so if your there just for the loot don’t even bother wasting your repair bills.

    As for guilds slowing down right now it’s everywhere. Guilds are like plants, as soon as you stop watering them they die. By that I mean one being watering them with new members and the other meaning watering them with new content. Sorry the terminology choice may be silly but it’s what I see 🙂

    The second a guild gets slowed down on hard content people loose interest because there is no easy farm content for them to get gear hence the need for new people coming in that still have the drive to get places. IMHO the new membership base should be a continuous growth to cover that.

    The raiders you have when ic comes out are those that will reap the rewards simply because the ones that come back will be totally transparent and can sit on the sidelines will you guys reap the rewards. .

    Tell me, why should I work my butt off in heroic toc paying large repair bills making me farm and work more just to get gear that will be out dated when icecrown comes out? Sadly that’s the mind set of many people. Personally I love to be able to say I did that before I’m over geared for it or it was nerfed 🙂

    I’ll shut up now, cheers

  7. I think the reason I don’t tank anymore is because I miss my little Zeza…

  8. hi Ky!
    I havent been on here in a long time. I come by everyonce in awhile to see how are doing. Well Kyra is sitting in Dalaran, untouched for about 3 months now. Idk I got bored and the game got stagnant. My real life is getting busier and busier as my kids grow… with footbal games and band concerts….ect I may return, I may not. I havent decided. Its good to see you are doing good though. Miss all of my Crazy Club and ICESTORM friends. Take Care! 😀

Comments are closed.

