• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

What I Really Think Is Wrong In WoW

Oh great! Another rant!

Wait! It’s probably not what you think…I hope.

OK, it’s no secret that I haven’t been the happiest in-game lately. I keep searching for reasons and find a few here and there, but none of it seems to add up enough to explain how bad it’s gotten. But once again I think I’ve figured out what is wrong in WoW.

Raiding / PvE Endgame Content

Experience – The main motivation for me to raid is the experience which consists of the challenge and the comraderie*. I view gear as a means to an end. It’s needed and desired, but not a motivation. I just wish everyone thought that way too.

Challenge – If it’s not challenging, at least at the beginning, then why do it? The thought of gearing up in Icecrown and then going back to do Ulduar is something that still rankles. I’ll still do it for the experience, but a lot of the challenge is going to be gone. Getting gear in Icecrown to go back and do hard modes that I couldn’t do otherwise is acceptable. It’s too bad that a majority of people are like water and take the path of least resistance.

Comraderie – I had a great group of people I used to raid with. I have a great group of people I raid with now. But like any group of random people thrown together, there’s always those few that are fingernails on the chalkboard.

Wait until the Lich King gets a load of us!

Gear  – Ultimately I don’t care about gear. I just want to get whatever little I need to perform and be a benefit to the guild as a whole. I’m a firm believer in gearing up others ultimately benefits me more than gearing myself up individually. The major flaw in this logic is another person’s right to up and leave after getting what they want.

Battlegrounds / Arena / PvP

I’m not much of a PvP player. I’m not great at it. At times I can hold my own, but generally I suck at it. Although recent leveling experiences are making me wonder**.

Battlegrounds – Battlegrounds can be fun. AV is anyway. But the deal killer is the assholes yelling at each other about how fail others are. Seriously? How is that helping anything?

Arenas – Arenas are interesting, but ultimately not enough to really entice me to stay. Even the people I know give up quickly when things don’t go their way or are quick to blame me and the others even if they aren’t vocal about it.

PvP, in general – PvP can be fun, especially when you win! 🙂 I’m a competitive person, but I also have nothing to prove. I know there will always be someone faster, smarter, and better than me. I also know that I will always be faster, smarter, and better than some. I’m fine with that. Unfortunately most PvPers I’ve encountered are not. They hate losing and much like the average raider, they give up as soon as it gets too difficult always looking for the path of least resistance.

Leveling

Leveling still offers some fun for me. I’m currently working on the other 5 classes I haven’t leveled to cap and I’m somewhat intrigued by doing the same thing with Horde alts someday. I like quests. I like reading quest text, at least the first time. But I do notice that I don’t run instances while leveling. I don’t like having to rely on others to perform when I can do it so much easier on my own. I also don’t like having to feel like I’m the anchor weighing someone else down when they can do it so much easier on their own or with someone else. So ultimately I like leveling because it’s something I can solo.

So What’s Wrong With WoW?

Nothing. Not a dagburned thing!

The game has changed. Some things have been great, others not so much. But ultimately nothing is wrong with the game. If you look at my comments above, you’ll find somewhat hidden the problem I have with WoW, but it isn’t WoW itself.

  • “I just wish everyone thought that way too.”
  • “It’s too bad that a majority of people are like water and take the path of least resistance.”
  • “…there’s always those few that are fingernails on the chalkboard.”
  • “…another person’s right to up and leave after getting what they want.”
  • “…the deal killer is the assholes yelling at each other…”
  • “Even the people I know give up quickly when things don’t go their way…”
  • “…they give up as soon as it gets too difficult always looking for the path of least resistance.”
  • “So ultimately I like leveling because it’s something I can solo.”

The problem isn’t with WoW. It’s in WoW. It’s the people***.

*Believe me the irony of this statement is not lost on me. Call me selectively anti-social. 🙂
**While leveling my mage, a Horde shaman approached me from a distance, watched me as I was drinking, and after a few moments began to charge in on his mount. I sheeped him and ran off not wanting to fight. He pursued and I barely killed him. The icing on the cake? I was 2 levels lower and at half mana. 🙂 And while in Stranglethorn on my Rogue, a mage rode past me, quickly turned around, and proceeded to attack. I stealthed and unfortunately was discovered, due to a misjudgement on my part, but I still won. The icing on that cake? The fact that I actually was able to defend myself successfully.
***I’m gonna get burned at the stake for this, aren’t I? 🙂

3 Responses

  1. Well-stated. I feel exactly the same way you do on all of these points.

    Definitely try a Horde toon at some point. I started my first Alliance toon almost a month ago… and there is enough variation in the quests that I’m not constantly saying, “crap, this again”.

  2. I definitely agree. People are hell.

  3. Having played this game for so long and seen countless guild (raiding or otherwise) fall due to drama between members I couldn’t agree with you more…WoW in itself is a wonderful game. but the community is what drives you to either stay or leave

Comments are closed.

