• Meta

  • Contact Me

    casualhardcore DOT kyrilean AT gmail DOT com
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License because let's face it...anyone wanting to steal my ideas needs it way more than I.
  • Disclaimer

    World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Two Years

Wow! It’s been 2 years! And even more amazing, I still have readers! All 1 of you! 😛

At first I wasn’t really sure what I was doing. I didn’t even know what a blog was two years ago! To an older guy like me it sounded like a new fangled term for being indisposed.

“Time to go, dear.”

“OK. Gimme a moment. I need to drop my blog.”

“Don’t forget to put the seat down.”

The first year was tough, but I think that’s because I was intent on posting real information whether it was about leading guilds, raiding, paladin healing, etc. Then for a time I wanted to increase my number of readers, because let’s all face it; we may all write our blogs for our own personal reasons, but deep down every single one of us wants to be liked.

Yes. Even though I’m older and have reached a point where I can honestly say that I don’t care what others think of me (family excluded of course), I still want to be liked just as much as the next person. Apparently I’m one of the infamous M&S players. 😛

So during the second year I made a committment to try and post Mon-Fri leaving the weekends free for other stuff. I did pretty well, even if I do say so myself. But because of that, there’s a lot of fluff and not a lot of filler. At first it was weird, but eventually I saw my writing evolve to more random things and going so far as becoming a rant at one point

Anyway, I was tempted to post my two year blog stats, but that always seems weird to me. It feels akin to posting damage meters which is bragging if you’re at the top and embarrassing if you’re at the bottom. Suffice it to say that I have a solid core of readers that I appreciate and more than I ever thought I would ever have. Either that or you’re all too lazy to take me out of your RSS feeds. 😀 Besides which I don’t want to embarass myself in front of all my blogging guildies who I’m sure rank higher on the blogging damage meter.

Which brings up a good point. How many bloggers are in guild?

Amber – Our loveable and equally fail GM. Infamous for Friday Flowcharts. Everyone’s older sister. Don’t call her ‘Mom’ cuz she gets nasty. Actually all the more reason to call her ‘Mom’. And like all moms she’s very protective of her guildies. Don’t let her fool you. Even the ones she claims to “like less”.

Celaeno – One of our Disc priests turned Holy Pally. Our beautiful siren on Vent. The first time we heard Cel on Vent the entire room got quiet. I think she’s embarrassed because she does sound younger than she is. But I’m sure a good part of that is because of Vent and/or because she sounds like she’s whispering. It’s still fun to tease her about it though. 😛

Mach – Our former GM and apparently still hungover blogger, as he hasn’t posted since.

Myssidia – Healer extraordinaire, albeit somewhat absent as of late. Hopefully he makes it back a little more regularly if not for raiding just to hang out and make fun of Amber.

Eviscerate – Our stealthy rogue. He who fails at finding traps. He of the 1 FPS. And I’ll stop there since a couple of our other guildies have thoroughly embarassed him recently. 🙂

Mathorvos – A new hunter. All around good egg. Entertainer of Vent. The perfect addition to the “Make Fun of Amber” club. And even more stealthy than Eviscerate blogger. Seriously! I found out he has a blog like two days ago. Nobody tells me anything! (Although my wife says I don’t pay attention. Pffft!)

Tartdarling – Our newest addition to the guild. Amber’s really collecting all of us.

EDIT: It was late and I forgot Rivs – Our fail mage. Unfortunately crit by real life so raiding is iffy for the time being which is too bad, but at least he’s still hanging out with us.

So all in all that makes 8 9 of us so far. We just need a few more bloggers and then we just kick the rest and have our own 10 man raiding blogging guild! 🙂

Now some of you may be wondering about another blogger that we haven’t heard from in some time. I’m going to break the silence as some time has now passed and nobody else has commented on it.

We used to have another blogger, Mikata, in the guild. She is no longer here. I’ve heard three sides to the story and I’m sure there’s more. There’s always as many sides to a story as people involved plus the truth. Two of those sides coincide with each other pretty perfectly. The other? To an extent, but a lot of detail was left out. As it stands, she has left the server for an RP server and I wish her the best. But I think it’s safe to say that we won’t be seeing any updates to her blog from here on out.

So what’s in store from here on out? I don’t know. With the endless bitching I’ve done, I almost quit the game and blogging altogether a couple of months ago. Then I decided I’d at least stick it out until my 2 year mark. Well that mark is here and I’m still writing. So hopefully I haven’t run out of things to say. I’m opinionated if nothing else, so who knows? No promises that I’ll make it to Cataclysm, but here’s to hoping! 🙂

12 Responses

  1. Thank you for letting those of us who aren’t in your guild know what happened to Mikata. I enjoyed her blog quite a bit and she just vanished without a trace…a fate that happens to too many bloggers. Very appreciated!

    I admit I get a little frustrated sometimes when your posts devolve into ‘I don’t know why I am playing, I should just quit because I am bored’. I LOVE your blog, and enjoy reading your outlook on the game.

    Sometime breaks or doing something out of the ordinary in game is a better way to break yourself out of a rut. I wish you wouldn’t get so focused on the negative sometimes, its bad for you! *scolds*

    That being said, I am glad that you haven’t quit playing or blogging…this is one of the places I check daily for updates, even if I am a terrible replier =)

  2. @Teresa – 🙂

  3. Congrats on two years! I’m glad that you haven’t quit – having fun with you and Amber in the healing channel is a bright spot in my week. 😀 I’ve started taking things much more casually and playing less and I do think it’s helped me get over the burning out feelings.

    I don’t talk often because I have a paranoia about talking over someone. It makes me nervous!

  4. Wow! that’s a blogging intense guild! We’ve only got five in our guild, me included. Got to work on that!

    And contratulations!

  5. Happy Blog Day to You!

    Keep them posts coming, I’ve been reading your posts for at least the last year and a half…

    Oh, and I so totally must be that 1 subscriber!

  6. You forgot Fail mage’s blog!!

    http://highlatencylife.wordpress.com/

  7. Gratz! on the B-day!!! 😉

  8. Old man must caught alzheimers 😛 That’s alright I’ll pull some aggro, and then run around like a madman….wait, I do that already. Nevermind.

    Congo rats on the 2 years though Kyr, I actually been following you for some time. It’s a pleasure to playing next to you.

  9. Gratz. I can only hope to see 2 years before my job/life/family tears me away.

    However, I’m also attempting to schedule regular postings, although only 3 times a week. (Woot moments don’t count.) Remember other bloggers, you don’t HAVE to post daily to be as good as Kyr, but when you ARE that good, the rest of us want you to.

  10. Yeah real life suck sometimes, but I gotta say I’m having a bit of fun pvping again.

  11. […] my comment about Amber in yesterday’s post. **See my comment in Amber’s […]

Comments are closed.

